Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Academy U18s to start their league campaign

The Tigers Academy U18s squad will feature (l-r) Joe Lathan, Keston Lines, Luke Phoenix, Henri Lavin and Andre Dunn
The Tigers Academy U18s squad will feature (l-r) Joe Lathan, Keston Lines, Luke Phoenix, Henri Lavin and Andre Dunn

Leicester Tigers begin their campaign in the Premiership Rugby U18 Academy League Northern Conference against Northampton Saints tomorrow (Thursday).

The game will be held on the Loughborough University 1st XV pitch, the same pitch that staged the Premiership ‘A’ League game between the two clubs on Monday evening. Kick-off is at 4pm.

The Tigers team includes centre Sam Wager and scrum-half Will Yarnell, who came off the bench to play for the first team in the Anglo-Welsh Cup fixture against Bath Rugby at The Rec earlier this season, while back-rower Henri Lavin and lock Cameron Jordan have featured for the Development XV in the Premiership Rugby ‘A’ League.

Loughborough University is on Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TT.  Enter the university campus via the East Park Entrance off Epinal Way. Fans are asked to ensure they park in marked bays.

The Students’ Union, which is a short walk from the pitch, will be open and will provide a full range of hot/cold food and drink.

Tigers Academy U18 team

15 Freddie Steward (Norwich School)

14 Zack Godfrey (Stamford School)

13 Andre Dunn (Langley School)

12 Sam Wager (Wyggeston & QE College)

11 Will Poland (Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School)

10 Sam Costelow (Oakham School)

9 Will Yarnell (Loughborough Grammar School)

1 Keston Lines (Wyggeston & QE College)

2 Jamie Harding (Denstone College)

3 James Whitcombe (Woodhouse Grove School)

4 George Martin (Brooksby Melton College)

5 Cameron Jordan (Oakham School)

6 Henri Lavin (Wyggeston & QE College) (c)

7 Taylor Gough (Wyggeston & QE College)

8 Thom Smith (Langley School)



16 Shaun Allsopp (Stamford School)

17 Alex Maxwell (Brooksby Melton College)s

18 Joe Latham (Wyggeston & QE College)

19 Xander Purcell (Wyggeston & QE College)

20 Sam Eveleigh (Leicester Grammar School)

21 Jonny Law (Rugby School)

22 Ronnie Du Randt (Denstone College)

23 Luke Phoenix (Langley School)

Northampton: 15 Jake Johnson, 14 Josh Gillespie, 13 Sam Cappaert, 12 Conor Tupai, 11 Ollie Sleightholme, 10 Tyler Mills, 9 Fin Creighton, 1 Fraser Thompson, 2 Samson Ma'asi, 3 Mitchell Brown, 4 Marshall Sykes, 5 Freddie Betteridge, 6 Tom Addison, 7 Joe Wallace (c), 8 Ryan Hussey Replacements: 16 Arun Mehta, 17 Elliot Chilvers, 18 Ed McDowell, 19 Kayde Sylvester, 20 Emmanuel Iyogun, 21 Sam Connor, 22 Lewis Evans, 23 Josh Lack