Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Big Jim wins Scotland squad place

Figure image
Tigers second row James Hamilton has been named in the Scotland training squad for this year's RBS Six Nations. Hamilton became the 1,000th player to be capped by the Scots when he made his debut during the autumn internationals and will now hope to be in the mix for the match against England on February 3.

A total of four uncapped players have been inclued in the squad squad for training at Murrayfield next week as preparations for the RBS 6 Nations Championship intensify. Prop Alasdair Dickinson, flanker John Barclay, full-back Calum MacRae and full-back/centre Robbie Kydd are named by Frank Hadden in a 33-strong squad, which will assemble next Monday and Tuesday.

The squad also features three wingers who were not involved during the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Tests - Simon Danielli, Rory Lamont and Nikki Walker - albeit the two last-named players did perform for Scotland A against their Australian counterparts in Perth.

Hadden is also continuing to monitor closely the form of Glasgow Warriors 21-year-old winger Thom Evans, who is to be included in the Scotland sevens squad for the next tournament in the IRB series - on 2 and 3 February at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand.

Two forwards who missed the Autumn Tests through injury - Llanelli lock Scott MacLeod and Glasgow Warriors openside flanker Donnie Macfadyen - also return.

Eight injured players have also been invited to next week's camp and, of those, Hadden is optimistic that Scott Lawson, Chris Cusiter, Ali Hogg and Simon Webster may be able to take some part.

Hadden added: "Though the injury list is extensive, Jason White is currently our only player who we would describe as long-term injured."

Scotland squad for training at Murrayfield on January 15 and 16

Backs: Simon Danielli (Border Reivers), Rob Dewey, Marcus Di Rollo and Phil Godman (all Edinburgh Rugby), Andrew Henderson (Glasgow Warriors), Robbie Kydd (Northampton Saints), Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints), Rory Lawson (Gloucester Rugby)*, Calum MacRae (Border Reivers)*, Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby), Sam Pinder (Glasgow Warriors), Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby), Nikki Walker (Neath Swansea Ospreys)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)*, Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)*, Kelly Brown (Border Reivers)*, David Callam (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Bruce Douglas (Border Reivers), Ross Ford (Border Reivers)*, Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Rugby), James Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)*, Gavin Kerr (Border Reivers), Scott MacLeod (Llanelli Scarlets), Donnie Macfadyen (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Murray (Edinburgh Rugby), Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors)*, Alasdair Strokosch (Edinburgh Rugby)*, Simon Taylor (Edinburgh Rugby)

Injured (and invited to attend): Mike Blair (shoulder)*; Chris Cusiter (shoulder)*; Nathan Hines (foot); Allister Hogg (knee)*; Scott Lawson (foot)*, Ben MacDougall (cheekbone), Simon Webster (lower leg), Jason White (knee)

* = Member of Scottish Institute of Sport