Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Cockerill shortlisted in Premiership Awards

Figure image
Richard Cockerill has been included on the shortlist for the Guinness Director of Rugby of the Season award, Premiership Rugby confirmed today.

The Leicester Tigers boss is nominated alongside last year’s winner Mark McCall of Saracens and Steve Diamond (Sale Sharks) on the three-man shortlist.
Cockerill won the awards in 2008-09, following previous Tigers successes Pat Howard (2006-07), John Wells (2004-05) and Dean Richards (2000-01).
“We are very fortunate in Aviva Premiership Rugby to have some of the best coaches in the world but that ensured the judging panel had a tough job,” said Phil Winstanley, the rugby director at Premiership Rugby.
“All three on the shortlist were presented with their own different challenges and have led their clubs into next season’s European Rugby Champions Cup.
“Mark has managed a superb season for Saracens leading the charge at the top of Aviva Premiership Rugby and steering his side into a Heineken Cup Final, while Richard has had a tough season losing numerous players to injury yet picking up significant momentum going into the end of season and narrowly missing out in Clermont in a fantastic Heineken Cup quarter-final.
“Steve has had a massive impact in different circumstances; after a tough season last season he has led the Sharks into the top six against the expectations of most pundits and they can now look forward to elite European competition next season.
“I see the quality and professionalism of the whole group on a continuous basis and I believe that we are extremely fortunate to have such a stellar list of coaches in Aviva Premiership Rugby.”
The winners will be announced on May 15 at the sold-out Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards at the Hilton, Park Lane.