Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Corry returns to lead Leicester Tigers

Figure image
Club captain Martin Corry returns from suspension to lead Leicester Tigers in the Guinness Premiership match at Newcastle Falcons on Friday evening

England internationals Tom Croft, Harry Ellis and Toby Flood are named in the Tigers starting line-up alongside Martin Castrogiovanni and Grand Slam winner Geordan Murphy on their return from the Six Nations.

Ayoola Erinle starts at centre after Dan Hipkiss picked up a knock in the win over Saracens last weekend, and the return of Ellis allows Julien Dupuy a rest after starting the last seven games.

“Martin Corry has been training really hard and it’s good for us to have him back. He is well conditioned and hungry to play,” said Tigers acting head coach Richard Cockerill.

“We have done really well with the guys who have been here over the last five or six weeks and the Test boys appreciate that. Now we have some more options available with the internationals back.

“Newcastle are playing well, they have had some massive results home and away. They are a very good side, very direct and physical, and they should be respected.

“We have been playing well too. We will go there with some confidence and they will have confidence after a good sequence of results so it bodes well for a good game.”

Marcos Ayerza (neck), Benjamin Kayser (neck), Matt Smith (ankle), Marco Wentzel (knee), Jordan Crane (knee), Brett Deacon (foot), Seru Rabeni (knee), Lewis Moody (ankle), Richard Blaze (foot) and Craig Newby (hamstring) are unavailable for selection due to injury.
Leicester Tigers (v Newcastle Falcons away, Friday 8pm)
15 Geordan Murphy
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Ayoola Erinle
12 Aaron Mauger  
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Toby Flood
9 Harry Ellis
1 Boris Stankovich
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Louis Deacon
5 Ben Kay
6 Tom Croft
7 Ben Woods
8 Martin Corry (captain)

16 Mefin Davies
17 Dan Cole
18 Dan Hemingway
19 Ben Pienaar
20 Ben Youngs
21 Sam Vesty

22 Johne Murphy