Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Costelow elevated to starting position

Figure image

Sam Costelow makes his first start for Wales Under-20s in the match against Ireland on Friday.

Wales head coach Gareth Williams makesseven changes to the starting line-up after defeat by Scotland last weekend for the game at Zipworld Stadium in Colwyn Bay in the final round of the Six Nations.

Costelow, who has been used from the bench throughout the Championship after winning a second Academy Under-18 League title with Leicester Tigers this season, starts at fly-half with Cai Evans moving to full-back.

"It was a big aim to win the championship but that is off the table after disappointing defeat to Scotland," said Williams. “Ireland will be very driven to finish the job off after claiming the Championship with one round to go but if we show the quality and passion from the England game then we should be able to give a good account of ourselves."

On Costelow’s selection, Williams said: "It’s a reward for how he has been performing throughout the Six Nations, especially for that 15-20 minutes against Scotland.


“Cai Evans has been retained in the team because he has been quality throughout the competition and is yet to miss a kick at goal.

"We know Ireland are seeking a Grand Slam, but we are focused on ourselves. The boys are determined to finish the campaign off on a high note in front of a big home crowd."

Friday’s game will be broadcast live on S4C.

Wales Under-20s (v Ireland, Zipworld Stadium, Colwyn Bay, Friday, 7.05pm): 15 Cai Evans (Ospreys), 14 Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), 13 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), 12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons), 11 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), 10 Sam Costelow (Leicester Tigers), 9 Dafydd Buckland (Dragons); 1 Rhys Davies (Ospreys), 2 Dewi Lake (Ospreys)(c), 3 Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), 4 Ed Scragg (Dragons), 5 Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), 6 Ellis Thomas (Llanelli), 7 Jac Morgan (Aberarvon/Scarlets), 8 Iestyn Rees (Scarlets)
Replacements: 16 Will Griffiths (Dragons), 17 Tom Devine (Dragons), 18 Nick English (Bristol Bears), 19 Jac Price (Scarlets), 20 Ioan Rhys Davies (Cardiff Blues), 21 Dan Babos (Dragons), 22 Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), 23 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)