Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Dave Young to face fellow Tigers

Figure image
Tigers prop Dave Young has been named in the Scotland A squad for this Saturday's Barclays Churchill Cup Final.

Young will face fellow Tigers George Chuter, Jordan Crane and Ollie Smith, who all start for England Saxons in Chicago.

Scotland 'A' head coach Rob Moffat has made five changes to the starting XV that defeated Argentina Pumas last Wednesday, with Glasgow Warriors scrum-half Colin Gregor teaming up with Saracens stand-off Gordon Ross while Edinburgh duo Mark Robertson and Roland Reid return to the wings.

The only change in the pack sees Glasgow flanker James Eddie re-instated to the blindside berth as Moffat anticipates a physical battle against a Saxons side in search of their fourth Churchill Cup title in six years.

Looking forward to the final, Moffat said: "Weve taken a lot of positives from the first two games. The big challenge for us now is to raise the bar of performance once again and ultimately win the Churchill Cup.

"We know England are a big test for us because they're strong and powerful up front and have some game breakers behind the scrum. But while we respect that, we are concentrating on our own game.

"The Churchill Cup Final is a positive and exciting challenge for us and everyone connected with the Scotland A team is excited by the opportunity that lies ahead."

Scotland A (vs England Saxons, Toyota Park, Chicago, Saturday, June 21 kick off 2pm)

15 Steve Jones (Newcastle Falcons)
14 Mark Robertson (Edinburgh)
13 Rob Dewey (Ulster)
12 Calum MacRae (Edinburgh)
11 Roland Reid (Edinburgh)
10 Gordon Ross (Saracens)
9 Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors)
2 Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors) Captain
3 Dave Young (Leicester Tigers)
4 Fergus Pringle (Edinburgh)
5 Dan Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
6 James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors)
7 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh)
8 Stevie Swindall (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh)
17 Stuart Corsar (Rotherham)
18 Jon Dunbar (Leeds Carnegie)
19 Scott Newlands (Edinburgh)
20 Mark McMillan (Wasps)
21 David Blair (Edinburgh)
22 Jim Thompson (Edinburgh)