Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Development XV to face Saracens

Figure image
Hooker Mefin Davies will captain Leicester Tigers Development XV in the opening Guinness A League fixture away to Saracens this evening.

Wales international Davies will be joined in the front row by Boris Stankovich and summer signing Santiago Bonorino, while the backline includes Johne Murphy and Ayoola Erinle as they work towards full fitness after injury.

Tom Youngs, who was used as a second-half replacement in the Guinness Premiership win at Gloucester on Sunday, lines up alongside Erinle in the centres, with Ben Youngs and Sam Vesty forming the half-back combination.

Saracens play their A League fixtures at Old Albanians RFC, kick-off is a 7.30pm. Noah Cato, Edd Thrower, Tom Mercey and Don Barrell are all named in the Saracens side, while Alex Goode gets his first taste of competitive action of the season after shoulder surgery. Entrance to Old Albanians is £5 for adults and £2 for concessions.

Tigers Development XV play their first home game in the competition on Monday, September 15, against Sale Jets (kick-off 7pm). To find out how you can get your tickets for that game, log on to the club website on Thursday.

Leicester Tigers Development XV (v Saracens, at Old Albanians, Wednesday 7.30pm)
15 Johne Murphy
14 Jack Cobden
13 Ayoola Erinle
12 Tom Youngs
11 Will Hurrell
10 Sam Vesty
9 Ben Youngs
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Mefin Davies (c)
3 Santiago Bonorino
4 Calum Green
5 Dan Hemingway
6 Josh Goldspink
7 Rob Bell
8 Brett Deacon

Replacements (from): Greg Sammons, Dan Cole, Tom Armes, Mark Deaville, Sam Harrison, Rickie Aley, Manu Tuilagi

Saracens: 15 Noah Cato, 14 Edd Thrower, 13 Henry Staff, 12 Mike Stanley, 11 James Short, 10 Alex Goode, 9 Mickey Wilson; 1 Jordan Mitchell, 2 Alex Walker, 3 Tom Mercey, 4 Rob Anderson, 5 Harry Spencer, 6 Tom Wheeler, 7 Will Fraser, 8 Don Barrell. Reps: 16 Jamie George, 17 Sam Staff, 18 Alex Casey, 19 Sean Vine, 20 Luke Baldwin, 21 Owen Farrell, 22 Jake Sharp