Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Development XV to play Northampton

Figure image

Will Evans will captain the Leicester Tigers Development XV in this evening’s Premiership ‘A’ League fixture against Northampton Wanderers at Loughborough University (7.30pm kick-off).

Evans lines up in the back row alongside Brendon O’Connor and Fred Tuilagi for Tigers’ fifth fixture in the Northern Conference.

Tom Brady, who is continuing his comeback from injury, takes his place on the wing with Jonah Holmes, who has scored five tries so far this season for the first team, on the opposite flank.

George Worth and Charlie Thacker form the centre pairing, and there are two more academy products at half-back in Ben White and Tom Hardwick.

Harry Wells and Joe Maksymiw, who started the Aviva Premiership game against Gloucester Rugby earlier this season, are named in the second row.

The game is being held at Loughborough University. It has been moved to help protect the Welford Road pitch during the mid-winter period after hosting the European Champions Cup match against Munster on Sunday and the Aviva Premiership game against Saracens on Christmas Eve, followed by the league fixture against London Irish on January 6.

Loughborough University is on Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TT.  Enter the university campus via the East Park Entrance off Epinal Way and staff will direct you to available car-parking. The rugby pitch is on the left-hand side when you pass the security barrier.

Please note that there is no covered seating available so supporters are advised to dress appropriately and bring umbrellas if required. Refreshments will be available from the Athletes Lounge overlooking the pitch.

Kick-off at Loughborough is at 7.30pm and admission is free to all supporters.

Leicester Tigers Development XV

15 Jordan Olowofela

14 Tom Brady

13 George Worth

12 Charlie Thacker

11 Jonah Holmes

10 Tom Hardwick

9 Ben White

1 Owen Hills

2 Harry Mahoney

3 Joe Heyes

4 Harry Wells

5 Joe Maksymiw

6 Brendon O’Connor

7 Will Evans (capt)

8 Fred Tuilagi


16 Luke Davies

17 Sam Grahamslaw

18 Ben Betts

19 Sam Lewis

20 Tommy Reffell

21 Harry Simmons

22 Ravai Fatiaki

23 Jonathan Hughes

Northampton Wanderers: 15 George Furbank, 14 Nafi Tuitavake, 13 Rory Hutchinson, 12 Fraser Strachan, 11 Juan Pablo Estelles, 10 James Grayson, 9 Alex Mitchell, 1 Matt Beesley, 2 Reece Marshall, 3 Ehren Painter, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 5 Christian Day, 6 Paddy Ryan, 7 Ben Nutley, 8 Sam Dickinson Replacements: 16 Charlie Clare,  17 Toby Trinder, 18 Luc Jeannot, 19 James Craig, 20 Devante Onojaife, 21 Tom Kessell, 22 Fraser Dingwall, 23 Tom Emery