Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Duffey out to make a good impression

Figure image
Joe Duffey says he will have to put friendships to one side when Leicester Tigers take on his former club Nottingham on Saturday (kick off 4pm).

Duffey spent five years at Nottingham where he was a fans’ favourite before making the switch to Guinness Premiership champions Tigers over the summer.

Now the hooker is set for a quick return to Meadow Lane after being named in the squad for Tigers' pre-season fixture against Nottingham on Saturday.

Duffey said: “I was with Nottingham for five years and everyone was really good to me.

“I am going to have to go out and put all that to the past, put on a good showing and try to do well. I just want to put in a good performance.

“I have already had phone calls from guys ringing up and asking me who is playing. It should be good.

“I am looking forward to some more rugby, to be honest. If I get some game time, hopefully I can put on a good showing and do well and make a good impression.”

Nottingham enjoyed an excellent season in finishing fourth in National League One last year and are now putting the finishing touches to preparations for their campaign in the new-look Championship for 2009/10. Their squad includes Tom Youngs at hooker, Jack Cobden on the wing and Greig Tonks is named in the replacements.

Tickets are £15 adults, £10 concessions, £7 students and £4 for Under £16s. You can save £2 on each ticket if bought in advance. Book online at www.nottinghamrugbyshop.co.uk call 0115 985 9742 or visit the Nottingham Rugby office at Meadow Lane.

Tigers: J Murphy, Smith, Twelvetrees, Allen, Hamilton, Staunton, B Youngs; Ayerza, Davies, Castrogiovanni, Parling, Blaze, Newby, Pienaar, Deacon.

Reps: Duffey, Stankovich, Harris, Green, Hemingway, Grindal, Forsyth, Hurrell, M Tuilagi.

Nottingham: Savage, Jack Cobden, Hayter, Molenaar, Taylor, Jackson, Usasz; Parr, T Youngs, du Plessis, Nimmo, Rouse, Hammond, Sherriff, Eggleshaw.

Reps: Fowkes, McDonald, Warren, Raven, Baird, Willmott, White, Marshall, Tonks, Nirmalendran, Streater, Barnard.