Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England Under-18s edged out in AER final

Figure image
Leicester Tigers Academy wing Alex Lewington was in the England Under-18 AER side that suffered an agonising defeat to France Under-18s in the final of the Association de Rugby Tournament in Toulon.

England were edged out 20-19 after threatening to overturn the 14-point deficit that France had established with two converted tries early in the second half.

Sam Stanley’s try and a conversion and two penalties from Mike Wilcox added to a first-half Stanley penalty and Wilcox’s dropped goal and reduced France’s lead to a point.

England pressed to the final whistle but were unable to find a winning score.

Paul Mullan, England’s head coach, said: “I’m hoping the boys will go on to bigger and better things as a result of this experience.”

England Under-18 AER
15 Ben Ransom (Tonbridge School, Saracens and Kent)
14 Anders Mogensen (Millfield School and Northampton Saints)
13Henry Staff (Bedford Modern School, Saracens and Hertfordshire)
12 Sam Stanley (Oaklands College, Saracens and Essex)
11 Alex Lewington (Nottingham HS and Leicester Tigers)
10 Mike Wilcox (St Peter's RC HS, Gloucester and Gloucestershire - captain)
9 Chris Cook (Millfield School, Bath and Somerset)
1 Simon McIntyre (St Bedes School, Broughton Park, Sale Sharks and Lancashire)
2 Harry Hannan (Woodhouse Grove School, Leeds Carnegie and Yorkshire)
3 Will Collier (Cranleigh School, Harlequins and Surrey)
4 Joe Launchbury (Christ's Hospital School, Harlequins and Sussex)
5 Kieron Low (Havant College, Chichester and Sussex)
6 Chris Walker (Prince Henry's GS, Leeds Carnegie and Yorkshire)
7 Oliver Robinson (Prior Park College, Bath and Somerset)
8 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Sixth Form College, Worcester Warriors and North Midlands)

Replacements used :
Matt Keyte (Dulwich College, Bath and Surrey)
Marland Yarde (Whitgift School, London Irish and Middlesex)
Josh Elliott (Dulwich College, Old Alleynians, London Wasps and Surrey)
Chris Fox (Bromsgrove School, Worcester Warriors and North Midlands)
David Francis (Twyford C of E High School, London Wasps and Middlesex)
Matthew Steele (Dame Alice Owen School, Saracens and Hertfordshire)
Liam Wilkinson (St Peter's Catholic HS, Gloucester and Gloucestershire)