Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England Under-20s beaten in Wales

Figure image
Tigers wing Rhys Williams was able to celebrate a victory against three of his club colleagues as Wales Under-20s opened their Six Nations campaign with a 21-15 win over England at Colwyn Bay on Saturday.Williams made his Under-20s debut for Wales, while back-rowers Charlie Beckett and Will Owen started for England, with hooker Jake Farnworth among the replacements.   Fly-half Dan Jones kicked Wales into an early lead, and Beckett was sin-binned soon afterwards for a late tackle.   But England scored while a man down when No8 James Chisholm controlled the ball before picking up to score. Rory Jennings added the extras to make it 7-3.   Jones added his second penalty before Englnad wing Howard Packman – a try scorer for Northampton Saints in the LV= Cup defeat at Welford Road the previous weekend – set up Joe Marchant to score and make it 12-6 in England's favour.   Wales hooker Liam Belcher burrowed over to score in the corner but England led by a point at the break.   Jones scored his third penalty early in the second half to nudge Wales in front and, with Kieran Treadwell and Paul Hill in the sinbin, they took full advantage to score in the corner through Tom Phillips to make it 21-12.   Jennings scored his first penalty after 60 minutes for England but, despite some late pressure, they could not claw back the six-point deficit.   England Under-20 15 Piers O’Conor (Wasps) 14 George Perkins (Saracens) 13 Joe Marchant (Harlequins) 12 Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 11 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 10 Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 9 Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs) 1 Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 2 Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie) 3 Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 4 Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) 5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)(c) 6 Charlie Beckett (Leicester Tigers) 7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 8 James Chisholm (Harlequins) Replacements: 16 Jake Farnworth (Leicester Tigers) 17 Seb Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) 18 Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) on for Hill 55 mins 19 Joe Batley (Gloucester Rugby) on for Beckett 53 mins 20 Josh Bainbridge (Yorkshire Carnegie) on for Owen 53 mins 21 James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) on for Townsend 63 mins 22 Tom Morton (Sale Sharks) 23 Tom Fowlie (London Irish)