Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

European Rugby Champions Cup draw details

Figure image
Leicester Tigers have been drawn in a pool with Toulon, Ulster and Scarlets in the new European Rugby Champions Cup for 2014/15.

The draw for the inaugural year of the elite tournament was held today in Neuchatel, Switzerland, the base for organisers European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR), and performed by former international forwards Scott Quinnell and Simon Shaw.
The new European Champions Cup features 20 clubs who have qualified on merit from Europe’s three major leagues. The clubs were divided into four tiers based on their qualification position from their leagues, with at least one club from each of the three leagues in each of the five pools.
Tigers, two-time European champions and finalists on three other occasions, are the only club to have played in Europe’s elite tournament in each year of English rugby’s participation and reached the knockout stages for a 12th time in 2013/14.
In the opening year of the new competition they will face reigning French and European champions Toulon for the first time since the 2013 quarter-final.
Ulster and Tigers were paired in the same pool last season, with the Irish province claiming wins home and away. Tigers last faced the Scarlets in Europe during 2010/11, winning both games.
After hearing the draw, Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “At Leicester we always want to be competing against the best of the best and that is what the new European Rugby Champions Cup is all about.
“I’m sure the supporters are already looking forward to some big European occasions at Welford Road and some exciting trips away with the team too.”
Order of fixtures, together with confirmed dates and times of kick-offs, will be announced soon.
European Rugby Champions Cup draw in full
Pool 1:
Saracens, Munster, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Sale Sharks
Pool 2: Leinster, Castres Olympique, Harlequins, London Wasps
Pool 3: Toulon, Leicester Tigers, Ulster, Scarlets
Pool 4: Glasgow, Montpellier, Bath rugby, Toulouse
Pool 5: Northampton Saints, Racing Metro, Ospreys, Benetton Treviso