Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Evans celebrates world title triumph

Figure image
England were crowned World Rugby Under-20 champions for the third time in four years after a 45-21 victory over Ireland at the AJ Bell Stadium on Saturday.

Leicester Tigers flanker Will Evans started in the back row as England scored first-half tries through Joe Marchant, Callum Chick and Huw Taylor to take a 21-0 lead at half-time.
Ireland claimed converted tries from Adam McBurney and Shane Daly before England skipper Harry Mallinder scored twice and Marchant ran in his second to stretch the leasd again before a late consolation for Ireland from Max Deegan.
The six try victory rounded off a memorable day for England Rugby following the success of the senior side in sealing a series whitewash over Australia earlier in the day.
Head coach Martin Haag said: “We’ve shown incredible team spirit, which is a key ingredient to any side.  The performance was outstanding.
“The first-half performance was electric to watch.  That’s how these guys want to play – they want to play an exciting brand of rugby.  
‘These players have a huge amount of potential, they have a bright future and this is just part of their rugby journey.”
England enjoyed pool wins over Italy (48-10), Scotland (44-0) and Australia (17-13) before beating South Africa 39-17 in the semi-final last Monday and then lifting the silverware with the victory over first-time finalists Ireland.
England (v Ireland): 15 Max Malins (Saracens), 14 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), 13 Joe Marchant (Harlequins), 12 Johnny Williams (London Irish), 11 Matt Gallagher (Saracens), 10 Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints)(c), 9 Max Green (Yorkshire Carnegie); 1 Lewis Boyce (Yorkshire Carnegie), 2 Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors), 3 Billy Walker (Saracens), 4 Stan South (Harlequins), 5 Huw Taylor (Worcester Warriors), 6 George Nott (Sale Sharks), 7 Will Evans (Leicester Tigers), 8 Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons)
Replacements: 16 Charlie Piper (Harlequins), 17 Tom West (Wasps), 18 Will Stuart (Wasps), 19  Andrew Kitchener (Worcester Warriors), 20 Jack Willis (Wasps), 21 Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby), 22 Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie), 23 Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby)