Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Fan of the Year shortlist confirmed

Figure image
The shortlist for the first-ever Leicester Tigers Fan of the year has now been collated and the three finalists will join the playing squad at the Supporters Awards Night at Welford Road next Tuesday.

Awards Night is attended by more than 500 supporters, together with the players and coaching team, celebrating the highlights of the season so far and, of course, honouring the fans’ choices as players of the year.
This year we have added a Fan of the Year category and have enjoyed an excellent response with an impressive list of worthy nominations. Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination.
A panel of judges including Tigers directors Simon Cohen, Peter Wheeler and Rory Underwood considered all of the entries and have selected the three finalists – Hazel Churchill, Shaun Gibson and John Griffiths.
The finalists have all been invited to Awards Night, sponsored by DX, when the overall winner will be announced alongside the supporters’ choice as Player of the Year, Young Player, Newcomer of the Year, Try of the Season and recipient of the Outstanding Service award.
Fan of the Year Finalists:
Hazel Churchill

A supporter for more than 35 years, Hazel sits in the Holland & Barrett Stand and never misses a match.
“She has forgotten more about rugby and Tigers in particular than I will ever know,” says Michael Wiseman in his nomination. “I sit with another elderly gentleman who, due to ill health, missed a few matches lately. Mrs Churchill always asks after him and told me to ensure he came regularly as it could only but do him good as she had found out herself.”
Shaun Gibson
“Shaun is terrific when it comes to social media fan groups and he started the petition for a work permit for Manu with over 10,000 members,” writes Lin Gibson in making her nomination. 
“He started the campaign for Castro to stay at Welford Road which also got a lot of fans to wear Castro beards at matches and is running another Facebook petition to get Matt Hampson knighted. 
“Most recently there was a young lady that couldn't travel to Leicester to see a match that she had a ticket for because she is disabled, Shaun didn't know her but travelled 120 miles to pick her up so she didn't miss the game.” 
John Griffiths
“My granddad John is truly dedicated to Tigers and runs the Away Supporters Club,” says Clare Brooks. “Through being such a dedicated fan, he enables others to travel to all the away matches including European matches.
“Home matches start early as he takes posters to the ground to advertise the next away trips and he misses the last minutes of home matches as he leaves his seat to make sure he is at his table in the Captains Bar ready to take bookings for trips. He has a phone line dedicated to taking bookings and spends many hours on the phone catching up with other fans.
“His love of Tigers is contagious and the whole family has caught the love for the team.”
Fan of the year nominations:
Peter Allen
Richard Carlton
Chris Chaplin
Hazel Churchill
Eddy Crowe
David Drake
Wes Elson
Jim Fisk
Jim Ford
Brian Foskett
Mike Fox
Sally Frazer
Shaun Gibson
John Griffiths
Andy Grimley
Heather Harding
Bev Heady
Mark Housden
Eleanor Johnson
Ellie Johnson
Matthew Lane & Joanne Boyce
Edward Leeson
Jamie Mallaband
Steve Matthews
Richard Palmer
Tom Perry
Rodney Poole
Sam Richards
Ellie Walker
Simon Ward
Shelley Withers
Peter Wray
Voting has now closed in all categories but tickets for the Awards Night on Tuesday (April 29) are still available, price £45 season ticket holders and £55 all other supporters.
This event includes a three-course meal with a Tigers player at your table, interviews and highlights videos, and the presentation of the awards.
Book your place at the Tigers ticket office, phone us on 0844 856 1880 (option 2) or click here to book online.