Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Five star Tigers once again

Figure image
England have again named five Leicester Tigers in their starting line-up for the next installment of this autumn's Investec Challenge Series at Twickenham. Martin Corry, Lewis Moody, Ben Kay, George Chuter and Julian White all retain their places as Andy Robinson's side prepare to face Argentina on Saturday.

That number dwarfs the contribution of other Guinness Premiership sides, with Gloucester the only other club to have more than one player included in the starting XV.  

Corry continues to captain his country from the blindside flank and is joined in the back row by Moody who starts at openside. Kay is again chosen as one of three vice-captains, while Chuter and White start at hooker and tight-head prop respectively.

The front row features England's only change from last Sunday's 40-21 defeat to New Zealand, with Perpignan's Perry Freshwater coming in for Sale's Andrew Sheridan.

There are two new faces on the bench however, with Tigers fly-half Andy Goode being replaced by Newcastle's Toby Flood and Mark Van Gisbergen making way for Wasps clubmate Josh Lewsey.

England (v Argentina, Saturday, 2.30pm, Twickenham Stadium)
15            Iain Balshaw                      Gloucester Rugby
14            Paul Sackey                       London Wasps
13            Jamie Noon                       Newcastle Falcons
12            Anthony Allen                    Gloucester Rugby
11            Ben Cohen                        Northampton Saints
10            Charlie Hodgson                Sale Sharks
9              Shaun Perry                      Bristol Rugby
1              Perry Freshwater                Perpignan
2              George Chuter                         Leicester Tigers
3              Julian White                            Leicester Tigers
4              Danny Grewcock                Bath Rugby
5              Ben Kay                                    Leicester Tigers
6              Martin Corry                            Leicester Tigers (captain)
7              Lewis Moody                            Leicester Tigers
8              Pat Sanderson                  Worcester Warriors
16           Lee Mears                          Bath Rugby
17           Stuart Turner                      Sale Sharks
18           Tom Palmer                       London Wasps
19           Magnus Lund                      Sale Sharks
20           Pete Richards                     Gloucester Rugby
21           Toby Flood                         Newcastle Falcons
22           Josh Lewsey                       London Wasps