Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Six Tigers in Under-20s action this weekend

Head coach Steve Bates has named his England U20s team to play Ireland in the final round of the Six Nations and includes five Leicester Tigers players in the matchday 23.

England are tied with France on 15 points going into Friday’s game in Coventry and are still in with a chance of retaining their title. Click here for the table.

They have made two changes to the starting XV with James Scott replacing Tigers’ lock Sam Lewis in the second row, while Ben Loader comes onto the wing.

Loader’s inclusion means Jordan Olowofela moves to full back with his Tigers teammate Tom Hardwick at inside centre as James Grayson switches to fly-half.

Ben White starts at scrum-half and his Tigers teammate Joe Heyes joins Lewis among the replacements.

Ben Earl will captain the side from openside flanker in an unchanged backrow, while the front row is also the same as the one which defeated France 22-6 in Beziers last weekend.

Meanwhile, Tigers back-rower Tommy Reffell returns to captain the Wales team for their game against tournament leaders France. Reffell returns after being rested against Italy in one of nine changes by Wales for the game in Colwyn Bay (8.15pm).

Bates said: “We had a very good performance in France in many areas but we know we can improve and we’ll be looking to do that on Friday against Ireland.

“We came into this tournament with a very clear objective to improve every game with the aim that we could win the Six Nations and we’ve now got to that point.

“However, we’re just focused now on Ireland and putting in a really strong performance that allows us to win the game and we’ll see where that leaves us at the end of the tournament.”

England U20s
15 Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)

14 Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)
13 Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)
12 Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers)
11 Ben Loader (London Irish)
10 James Grayson (Northampton Saints)
9 Ben White (Leicester Tigers)
1 Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints)
2 Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby)
3 Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)
4 Dino Lamb (Harlequins)
5 James Scott (Worcester Warriors)
6 Josh Basham (London Irish)
7 Ben Earl (capt) (Saracens)
8 Sam Moore (Sale Sharks)

16 Gabriel Oghre (Wasps)
17 Alex Seville (Gloucester Rugby)
18 Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)
19 Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers)

20 Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
21 Rory Brand (London Irish)
22 Will Butler (Worcester Warriors)
23 Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)

Wales U20s
15 Tommy Rogers (Scarlets)
14 Joe Goodchild (Dragons)
13 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets)
12 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets)
11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets)
10 Cai Evans (Ospreys)
9 Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys)
1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues)
2 Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues)
3 Rhys Henry (Ospreys)
4 Alun Lawrence (Cardiff Blues)
5 Max Williams (Dragons)
6 Tommy Reffell (c) (Leicester Tigers)
7 James Botham (Cardiff Blues)
8 Taine Basham (Dragons)

16 Will Griffiths (Dragons)
17 Josh Reynolds (Dragons)
18 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets)
19 Rhys Davies (Bath)
20 Lennon Greggains (Dragons)
21 Harri Morgan (Ospreys)
22 Callum Carson (Ospreys)
23 Rio Dyer (Dragons)