Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Five Tigers named in England squad

Figure image
Tom Croft has been named among the England replacements for their Six Nations clash with Scotland at Twickenham.

Croft, who has won 22 England caps, returns to the squad for the first time since sustaining a shoulder injury against South Africa in November.

He is one of five Leicester Tigers players selected in the squad for Sunday’s Calcutta Cup clash, which kicks off at 3pm.

Dan Cole, Louis Deacon, Toby Flood and Ben Youngs all start as England aim to maintain their 100 per cent record in this season’s Six Nations.

The inclusion of Tigers flanker Croft, who takes over from Hendre Fourie on the bench, is one of three changes to the matchday squad made by team manager Martin Johnson.

Alex Corbisiero, the London Irish prop, replaces Sale’s Andrew Sheridan to win his third cap and Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester Rugby) takes Corbisiero’s place on the bench.

England team
15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby, captain)
12 Shontayne Hape (Bath Rugby)
11 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
7 James Haskell (Stade Francais)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 Steve Thompson (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester Rugby)
18 Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
19 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
20 Danny Care (Harlequins)
21 Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
22 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)