Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Foundation ambassador to captain Team GB

Figure image
Leicester Tigers Foundation ambassador Emily Scarratt will captain Team GB's women's sevens team at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Leicester-born Scarratt said it will be a dream come true to compete at the Olympics as the seven-a-side format is included for the first time.
A huge Tigers fan and Foundation ambassador, Scarratt is joined in the squad by fellow Lichfield Ladies player Natasha Hunt.
Scarratt said: “To wear the GB shirt and compete in the Olympics is a childhood dream that we are now, as a team, turning into reality. 
“As a squad, we are looking forward to being among the first athletes to play rugby sevens on the world’s biggest sporting stage. I am immensely proud to be representing Great Britain and introducing women’s rugby to new audiences.”
The women compete from August 6-8 at the Deodoro Stadium in a group which includes hosts Brazil, Japan and Canada.  
The women’s squad, who have been training full time as a wider GB group since October last year, have played in invitational and training tournaments around the globe this season alongside England’s exploits on the circuit, in which they won the Langford event. 
Team GB head coach (Women) Simon Middleton said: “This is a hugely exciting moment for women’s rugby with sevens making its debut at the Olympic Games and we believe we have selected the best possible group of players to achieve success in Rio.
“The World Series this season proved how competitive the women’s rugby sevens circuit is and we’re very much looking forward to competing against the very best as a Team GB squad. 
“The strength and depth of the wider training squad has not made the final selection easy. The players have been together since October and have trained so hard and really pushed the standards up of this group.” 
The selected athletes are:  
Men’s Squad   Women’s Squad
Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors) Claire Allan (England Sevens)
Dan Bibby (England Sevens)   Abbie Brown (England Sevens)
Phil Burgess (England Sevens)   Heather Fisher (England Sevens)
Sam Cross (Wales Sevens)   Natasha Hunt (England Sevens)
Alex Davis (England Sevens)   Jasmine Joyce (Wales Sevens)
James Davies (Scarlets)   Katy McLean (England Sevens)
Ollie Lindsay Hague (Harlequins)   Alice Richardson (England Sevens)
Tom Mitchell (England Sevens) C   Emily Scarratt (England Sevens)
Dan Norton (England Sevens)   Emily Scott (England Sevens)
James Rodwell (England Sevens)   Danielle Waterman (England Sevens)
Mark Robertson (Scotland Sevens)   Joanne Watmore (England Sevens)
Marcus Watson (Newcastle Falcons)   Amy Wilson-Hardy (England Sevens)
Travelling reserves:
Travelling reserves:
Luke Treharne (Wales Sevens)   Megan Jones (England Sevens)
Ruaridh McConnochie (England Sevens)   Kay Wilson (England Sevens)