Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Four Tigers in England U20s team to face France

England U20s have named four Leicester Tigers players in their starting XV for the U20s Six Nations game against France U20s.

Scrum-half Ben White partners Tom Hardwick at half-back, Jordan Olowofela is named on the wing and Sam Lewis is included in the second row for the game at Stade de la Mediterranee in Beziers (KO 8pm GMT).

The match is the fourth fixture of the U20s Six Nations with unbeaten France leading the table with three bonus-point victories so far in the tournament.

England have two bonus-point victories and a defeat against Scotland from their three games heading into Friday’s fixture.

Head coach Steve Bates said: “Friday is going to be a massive challenge for the squad but it is one we’re relishing.

“We know this is going to be a tough game, they have played exceptionally well in their three games and at home they are going to be a real handful.

“However, that’s the beauty of the Six Nations, this is going to be a huge challenge that many of the players would not have experienced before and I’m expecting them to rise to it.

“I want to see us bounce back from the disappointment of losing to Scotland. We have to match France physically and play with intensity. I expect our forwards to be abrasive and our backs to play at a high-tempo.

“We have to be more accurate with the ball, keep our composure and raise our game.”

England U20s
15 James Grayson (Northampton Saints)
14 Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)
13 Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)
12 Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks)
11 Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)
10 Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers)
9 Ben White (Leicester Tigers)

1 Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints)
2 Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby)
3 Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)
4 Dino Lamb (Harlequins)
5 Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers)
6 Josh Basham (London Irish)
7 Ben Earl (c) (Saracens)
8 Sam Moore (Sale Sharks)

16 Gabriel Oghre (Wasps)
17 Alex Seville (Gloucester Rugby)
18 Ehren Painter (Northampton Saints)
19 James Scott (Worcester Warriors)
20 Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
21 Rory Brand (London Irish)
22 Will Butler (Worcester Warriors)
23 Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)