Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Four Tigers to start for the Lions

Figure image
Geoff Parling, Ben Youngs and Tom Youngs will make their first starts for the British & Irish Lions in the tour game against Queensland Reds on Saturday (kick-off 10.30am BST).

They will be joined in the starting XV by Leicester Tigers teammate Manu Tuilagi, who will make his second start of the tour after playing the full 80 minutes against Western Force on Wednesday. Tuilagi moves to 13 alongside Jonathan Davies of the Scarlets.

Dan Cole, meanwhile, was a late call-up to the bench after injury to Gethin Jenkins. Jenkins had been due to start but was ruled out with a calf problem. Mako Vunipola steps up from the bench to take his place with Cole among the replacements,

Parling was a try scorer in Wednesday’s 69-17 victory over Western Force, coming off the bench to score the Lions ninth and final try. The Tigers and England second rower will start alongside Richie Gray.

Hooker Tom Youngs has featured from the bench in the tour matches against the Barbarians in Hong Kong and against Western Force in Perth. He starts in Brisbane in a front row that also includes Gethin Jenkins and Matt Stevens.

Tom’s brother Ben Youngs, who was a second-half replacement in Perth, forms a half-back pairing with his England teammate Owen Farrell.

Sam Warburton captains the side and is set to become the 800th player to wear the British & Irish Lions jersey in a competitive fixture when he makes his debut.

British & Irish Lions (v Queensland Reds, June 8, 7.30pm local time/10.30am BST, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)
15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors / Scotland)
14 Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues / Wales)
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers / England)
12 Jonathan Davies (Scarlets / Wales)
11 Tommy Bowe (Ulster / Ireland)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens / England)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers / England)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens / England)
2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers / England)
3 Matt Stevens (Saracens / England)
4 Richie Gray (Scotland)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers / England)
6 Dan Lydiate (Dragons / Wales)
7 Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues / Wales - Captain)
8 Toby Faletau (Dragons / Wales)

16 Richard Hibbard (Ospreys / Wales)
17 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers / England)
18 Adam Jones (Ospreys / Wales)
19 Paul O'Connell (Munster / Ireland)
20 Justin Tipuric (Ospreys / Wales)
21 Conor Murray (Munster / Ireland)
22 Jonathan Sexton (Leinster / Ireland)
23 George North (Scarlets / Wales)