Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan named in Ireland XV

Figure image
Geordan Murphy will play for an Ireland Select XV against Connacht in Donnybrook Stadium on Thursday evening (kick-off 6.30pm).

Tigers club captain Murphy, who made his return from injury in Tigers’ pre-season fixture with Montpelier last week, starts at full-back. He is joined in the back three by former Tigers teammate Johne Murphy.

Another ex Tigers player, Leo Cullen, captains the side while former Leicester flanker Shane Jennings makes his return from a broken arm.

Ireland Select XV (v Connacht, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin, Thursday, August 18th, kick-off 6.30pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester)

14 Johne Murphy (Munster)
13 Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12 Ian Keatley (Munster)
11 Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
10 Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
9 Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
1 Tony Buckley (Sale)
2 Sean Cronin (Leinster)
3 John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
4 Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
6 Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
7 Shane Jennings (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
8 Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Leinster)

16 Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)
17 Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
18 Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
19 Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
20 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
21 Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22 Ian Whitten (Ballymena/Ulster)

Ireland will play a second game of the week against France in Dublin’s Aviva Stadium on Saturday.