Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan retained in Ireland squad

Figure image
Geordan Murphy has been named in the Ireland squad for the Guinness Series against Canada, New Zealand and Argentina during November.

The Leicester Tigers full-back, who has 58 senior caps, has enjoyed an excellent start to the season at Welford Road, scoring three tries in his opening five appearances.

Brian O'Driscoll has been named Ireland captain ahead of matches against Canada in Thomond Park on November 8, and New Zealand and Argentina at Croke Park on November 15 and 22 respectively.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has named a squad of 41 players who will meet up for a week's training in Limerick next Monday.

Kidney said: "I have opted to name a bigger squad so we can continue to familiarise a largely new-look backroom staff with a wider group of players.

“Our games assume additional importance this year considering their significance as regards our seeding position going into the World Cup 2011 draw. We are currently ranked 8th and it is paramount to at least maintain a top-eight ranking."

Ireland Squad, Guinness Series 2008
Backs: Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Ian Dowling (Shannon - Munster), Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College - Leinster), Gavin Duffy (Galwegians - Connacht), Keith Earls (Young Munster - Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College - Leinster), Shane Horgan (Boyne - Leinster),Robert Kearney (UCD - Leinster), Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers), Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians - Munster), Brian O'Driscoll (UCD – Leinster, captain), Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution - Munster), Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin - Munster), Eoin Reddan (London Wasps), Jonathan Sexton (St Mary's College - Leinster), Peter Stringer (Shannon - Munster), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena - Ulster), Paddy Wallace (Ballymena - Ulster)
Forwards: Rory Best (Banbridge - Ulster), Tony Buckley (Shannon - Munster), Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon - Ulster), Bob Casey (London Irish), Tom Court (Malone - Ulster), Stephen Ferris (Dungannon - Ulster), Jerry Flannery (Shannon - Munster), John Hayes (Shannon - Munster), Cian Healy (Clontarf - Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Naas - Leinster), Marcus Horan (Shannon - Munster), Bernard Jackman (Clontarf - Leinster), Shane Jennings (St Mary's College - Leinster), Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution - Munster), Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution - Munster), Paul O'Connell (Young Munster - Munster), Malcolm O'Kelly (St. Mary's College - Leinster), Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution - Munster), Alan Quinlan (Shannon - Munster), Michael Ross (Harlequins), Donncha Ryan (Shannon - Munster), David Wallace (Garryowen - Munster), Roger Wilson (Northampton Saints)