Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Gillanders wins England U-19 call-up

Figure image
Leicester Tigers second row Gregor Gillanders has been named in the England U-19 set-up for the clash with Italy at the end of the week. Gillanders is part of a 26-man squad for the opening fixture of the year, which will take place at Sunbury on Friday January 5 (kick-off 2.15pm).

Gregor has been in superb form for both Tigers Academy and Tigers Development XV this season, earning high praise from coaches and colleagues alike. He captained the Academy side on their successful tour to France and has played a key role all of the Devlopment team's five Guinness A League wins so far in 2006/07.

The 6 foot 4 in lock turned out for England against Tigers in a recent training match at Oval Park and is now in line to win his first cap for his country.

The England squad includes five survivors from the 2006 Under-19 World Championships - when England achieved their highest ever placing by finishing third in Dubai.

England are set to play three internationals this season before heading to the 2007 IRB Under-19 World Championship in Belfast in April.

After taking on Italy, they travel to face Wales at Aberavon on March 2 (kick-off 7.15pm) and host France at Henley on March 24 (kick-off 2.15pm). Then they play Argentina, Samoa and New Zealand in the World Championship pool stages.

England U-19 squad


Alex Tait (Newcastle Falcons), David Smith (Northampton), Gareth Griffiths (Bristol), Greg King (Worcester), Tom Bedford (Exeter Chiefs), Noah Cato (Saracens), David Howells (London Irish), Adam Greendale (Hymers College & Leeds Tykes), Alex Goode (Saracens), Michael Young (Newcastle Falcons), Johnny Arr (Worcester), Richard Bolt (Exeter Chiefs).


Billy Moss (Bath), Jack Steadman (Bristol), Joe Williams (Gloucester), Nathan Catt (Bath), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Scott Freer (Leeds Tykes), Ben Thomas (Saracens), Gregor Gillanders (Leicester), Scott Hobson (Cornish Pirates), Matthew Cox (Worcester), Jon Fisher (Wellington College & London Irish), Andy Saull (Saracens), Garth Dew (Sale Sharks), Hugo Ellis (London Wasps).