Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Club News

Tigers Hall of Fame inaugural names revealed

The list of inaugural inductees to the Leicester Tigers Hall of Fame features six men who have made a major contribution to the club on and off the field.

After sifting through a list of nominations made from supporters, a Hall of Fame committee representing the views of players and supporters has made its final selection.

The inaugural inductees are:

Martin Johnson

One of the world’s leading players in the professional era and captain of a Tigers team that won four successive league titles and back-to-back European Cups.

David Matthews

With 502 first-team games, his club record appearance mark will never be beaten. Also captain, coach, director, president and life member in an association with the club stretching more than 60 years.

Dean Richards

A talismanic No8, the Hinckley policeman became central to a formidable Tigers forward pack and captain of the club before leading its golden era as director of rugby including four successive league titles and two European Cup wins.

Tudor Thomas

Never played a game for the club but the popular Welshman was a constant figure behind the scenes, most notably as First Team Secretary but also as Honorary Secretary and matchday announcer.

Peter Wheeler

Captain of the treble-winning John Player Cup team of the late 70s/early 80s and one of the game’s leading players of the era. Also served as coach and then a key member of the club’s board in the professional era as its first chief executive. He is also a life member.

Chalkie White

As a scrum-half, he made nearly 150 appearances for the club from 1957, but it is his contribution as a visionary coach – and guiding a team to its John Player Cup hat-trick – which provided the foundations and the benchmark for all who followed.

The judging panel included past players Steve Kenney, Bleddyn Jones and Matt Smith plus club historian Stuart Farmer and long-time supporter John Griffiths.

The Hall of Fame will have its official launch at a Welford Road dinner on Tuesday, April 21 and will be updated on an annual basis. Places at the dinner when inductees will be invited to join other past players and members of the current playing squad as well as supporters are available to book now.