Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Heineken Cup team news: Leicester Tigers v Aironi

Figure image
Scrum-half Micky Young makes his first starting appearance for Leicester Tigers in Saturday's Heineken Cup match against Aironi at Welford Road (3.40pm kick-off).

Young, a member of the England Elite Saxons Squad this season, gains a starting role alongside Jeremy Staunton at half-back after six previous appearances as a replacement since his arrival at the start of the campaign.

Billy Twelvetrees joins Anthony Allen in midfield for the final game in Pool 4, while captain Geordan Murphy extends his club record of European appearances with his 73rd game in Heineken Cup action.

Director of rugby Richard Cockerill makes changes in the forward pack, with George Chuter, Ed Slater, George Skivington and Ben Woods returning to the team.

England international Dan Cole and fly-half George Ford are named among the replacements, with Academy product Jimmy Stevens selected as the back-up hooker.

Tickets for Saturday’s game are still available from the Tigers ticket office. Phone 0844 856 1880, call in at Welford Road or book online.

Leicester Tigers v Aironi Rugby (Welford Road, Saturday 3.40pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Horacio Agulla
13 Billy Twelvetrees
12 Anthony Allen
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Jeremy Staunton
9 Micky Young
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Ed Slater
5 George Skivington
6 Tom Croft
7 Ben Woods
8 Thomas Waldrom

16 Jimmy Stevens
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Dan Cole
19 Graham Kitchener
20 Steve Mafi
21 Sam Harrison
22 George Ford
23 Scott Hamilton 

Aironi Rugby
15 Alberto Benettin
14 Giulio Toniolatti
13 Roberto Quartaroli
12 Gabriel Pizarro
11 Giovanbattista Venditti
10 Naas Olivier
9 Tito Tebaldi
1 Alberto De Marchi
2 Roberto Santamaria
3 Fabio Staibano
4 Quintin Geldenhuys
5 Marco Bortolami (c)
6 Mauro Bergamasco
7 Simone Favaro
8 Josh Sole

16 Tommaso D’Apice
17 Salvatore Perugini
18 Lorenzo Romano
19 Carlo Del Fava
20 Filippo Ferrarini
21 Giorgio Bronzini
22 Gilberto Pavan
23 Matteo Pratichetti