Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Henry involved as Tigers change four

Figure image
Henry Tuilagi returns to the Tigers 22 as head coach Pat Howard makes four changes to his starting line-up for this Saturday's clash with Bath Rugby at Welford Road, kick-off 2.45pm.

Tuilagi has been named among the replacements, two-and-a-half months after breaking his arm in the EDF Energy Cup match at Franklin's Gardens.

Alex Moreno replaces Michael Holford in the front row in the only alteration to the forward pack from last weekend's narrow defeat against Gloucester at Kingsholm.

Andy Goode comes in at fly-half for Ian Humphreys, Leon Lloyd starts in place of Alesana Tuilagi on the wing and Geordan Murphy takes over from Sam Vesty at full back.

"It's not going to be easy," says Howard. "We've got a lot of guys missing and, with the internationals away and with injuries, we're definitely thin on the ground. Alex Tuilagi has been playing really well but he's carrying a couple of little knocks and I want to take the opportunity to make sure he's fresh for our remaining games. It's the same with Sam who's played in the majority of our games this year and needs a rest.

"I've picked a couple of guys who have been really wanting a shot. I've picked them and I've said 'OK, take your chance'. I want the guys to be really hungry as I know Bath are coming up here believing they have a real chance. They're the only team who've given us a proper beating this year. They well and truly beat us down there and we'll have to get our attitude mentally right if we want to win this game. It's a massive challenge and I want the squad to stand up to that."


15. Geordan Murphy
14. Leon Lloyd
13. Dan Hipkiss
12. Daryl Gibson
11. Tom Varndell
10. Andy Goode
9. Frank Murphy

1. Marcos Ayerza
2. Gavin Hickie
3. Alex Moreno
4. Leo Cullen (captain)
5. Ben Kay
6. Tom Croft
7. Shane Jennings
8. Jordan Crane


16. James Buckland   
17. Michael Holford
18. Henry Tuilagi
19. Luke Abraham
20. Scott Bemand
21. Paul Burke
22. Alesana Tuilagi

There are still a few tickets for the match remaining, so if you would like to be part of the action, pop into the Tigers ticket office, call 08701 28 34 30, or visit www.leicestertigers.com