Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Holmes makes Wales return against Ireland

Figure image

Leicester Tigers wing Jonah Holmes has been named on Wales’ bench for their Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Ireland on Saturday.

Holmes, who has two international caps, missed the final rounds of the Gallagher Premiership campaign with a thigh injury, but has undergone rehabilitation with club and country over the summer.

He now takes his place in Warren Gatland’s matchday squad as Wales face Ireland in Cardiff this Saturday.

Gatland includes two uncapped players in the starting XV, with prop Rhys Carre and wing Owen Lane both set to make their international debuts.

Fly-half Jarrod Evans makes a first international start, while back-rower Josh Navidi captains the side from the back row.

“Saturday is a really big game for the players and I’m really excited about the challenge for this Welsh team,” Gatland said. “There is so much at stake in terms of RWC selection and with a number of positions still up for grabs it will be a huge game.”

Kick-off at the Principality Stadium is at 2.30pm, with live coverage provided by Channel 4.

Wales announce their 31-man Rugby World Cup squad on Sunday (September 1).

Wales (v Ireland, Saturday 2.30pm)

15 Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues) (19 caps)
14 Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues) (*uncapped)
13 Scott Williams (Ospreys) (57 caps)
12 Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (15 caps)
11 Steff Evans (Scarlets) (12 caps)
10 Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) (2 caps)
9 Aled Davies (Ospreys) (18 caps)
1 Rhys Carre (Saracens) (*uncapped)
2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (7 caps)
3 Samson Lee (Scarlets) (40 caps)
4 Adam Beard (Ospreys) (14 caps)
5 Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (64 caps)
6 Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (19 caps)
7 James Davies (Scarlets) (4 caps)
8 Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (c) (17 caps)

16 Elliot Dee (Dragons) (20 caps)
17 Rob Evans (Scarlets) (35 caps)
18 Leon Brown (Dragons) (5 caps)
19 Jake Ball (Scarlets) (34 caps)
20 Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (33 caps)
21 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (7 caps)
22 Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (11 cap)
23 Jonah Holmes (Leicester Tigers) (2 caps)

Ireland: 15 Will Addison (Enniskillen/Ulster), 14 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster), 13 Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster), 12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht), 11 Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster), 10 Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht), 9 Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht); 1 Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster), 2 Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster), 3 John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster), 4 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster), 5 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster), 6 Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster), 7 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), 8 Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

Replacements: 16 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), 17 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster), 18 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), 19 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), 20 Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster), 21 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster), 22 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster), 23 Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster).