Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Internationals back in Tigers line-up

Figure image
England internationals Lewis Moody, Ben Youngs and Toby Flood are restored to the Leicester Tigers line-up for Saturday's Guinness Premiership trip to Worcester Warriors.

Moody captained England in Paris last weekend and resumes his place in the Tigers back row alongside fellow internationals Tom Croft and Jordan Crane.

Geordan Murphy and Martin Castrogiovanni also return from the RBS 6 Nations, and prop Dan Cole is included in the matchday 23 after establishing himself in the England squad.

“The international guys have come back and they want to play,” said Tigers head coach Richard Cockerill.

“We’ve got lots of guys fit after a short break too so we’ve got some very good competition for places. It is good to know that whoever starts and whoever is on the bench will contribute.”

Tigers go into the game at the top of the Guinness Premiership table, but Cockerill says reputations count for very little when points come up for grabs.

“We’ve seen just how close it is in this competition all season,” he added. “Worcester have a big pack and some quality international players. We expect a huge game from them, but it is also an important game for us.”

Louis Deacon is sidelined by injury after returning from England duty, while Tigers are also without Richard Blaze, Dan Hipkiss, Aaron Mauger and Ben Woods.

Leicester Tigers (v Worcester Warriors, Sixways, Saturday 3pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Matt Smith
12 Anthony Allen
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Toby Flood
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 Mefin Davies
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Geoff Parling
5 Ben Kay
6 Tom Croft
7 Lewis Moody
8 Jordan Crane

16 George Chuter
17 Dan Cole
18 Boris Stankovich
19 Brett Deacon
20 Craig Newby
21 James Grindal
22 Johne Murphy
23 Billy Twelvetrees

Worcester Warriors
15 Chris Latham
14 Chris Pennell
13 Alex Grove
12 Dale Rasmussen
11 Miles Benjamin
10 Willie Walker
9 Jonny Arr
1 Adam Black
2 Aleki Lutui
3 Tevita Taumoepeau
4 Greg Rawlinson
5 Craig Gillies
6 Tom Wood
7 Pat Sanderson (c)
8 Kai Horstmann

16 Callum Black
17 Jordan Page
18 Olivier Sourgens
19 Graham Kitchener
20 Chris Cracknell
21 Louis Silver
22 Matthew Jones
23 Rico Gear