Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Johne named in Churchill Cup squad

Figure image
Leicester Tigers winger Johne Murphy has been named in the Ireland squad for this summer's Churchill Cup.

Tigers’ top try-scorer so far this season with 11 in all competitions, he will be joined in the squad by former clubmate Frank Murphy, now with Connacht in the Magners League.

Ireland A will play pool games against Canada and Georgia in a tournament which also features teams from Argentina, USA and England Saxons.

The senior Irish squad going to Canada and the USA has been named without Heineken Cup Final players and British & Irish Lions tourists.

Ireland squad: Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster, captain), Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster), Bob Casey (London Irish), Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Tom Court (Malone/Ulster), Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), Ian Dowling (Shannon/Munster), Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht), Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster), Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster), Ian Keatley (Galwegians/Connacht), Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster), Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht), John Muldoon (Buccanneers/Connacht), Barry Murphy (U.L. Bohemians/Munster), Niall O'Connor (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster), Eoin Reddan (London Wasps), Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
Mike Ross (Harlequins), Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster), Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster), Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
Schedule: Canada v Ireland, Saturday May 23, Vancouver; USA v Ireland, Sunday May 31,  Santa Clara, California

Ireland A Churchill Cup squad: John Andress (Exeter Chiefs), Neil Best (Northampton Saints), Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster), Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), Fionn Carr (Galwegians/Connacht), Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), James Downey (Northampton Saints), Dennis Fogarty (Cork Constitution/Munster), Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster), Trevor Hogan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster), Felix Jones (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Simon Keogh (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht), Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster), John Muldoon (Buccaneers/Connacht, captain), Frank Murphy (Buccaneers/Connacht), Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers), Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster), Niall O'Connor (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Ed O'Donoghue (Instonians/Ulster), Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster), Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster), Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary’s College/Leinster), Devon Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
Schedule: Ireland A v Canada, Wednesday June 10, Glendale, Colorado; Georgia v Ireland A, Sunday June 14, Glendale, Colorado; Finals Day, Sunday June 21, Denver, Colorado