Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Johnno and Geordan in Euro Dream Team

Figure image
Leicester Tigers duo Martin Johnson and Geordan Murphy have been named in an ERC Dream Team celebrating 15 years of European club rugby.

Heineken Cup tournament organisers ERC developed the awards to recognise individual excellence in European club rugby and an expert panel selected the names for a European Player Award, Coaching Award and Fair Play Award, as well as the ERC European Dream Team.

Martin Johnson made his Heineken Cup debut for Tigers against Leinster in 1996 and is the only man to captain back-to-back winning teams, with Leicester picking up the silverware in 2001 and 2002. He made a total of 51 Heineken Cup appearances.

Four-time Heineken Cup finalist Geordan Murphy has made 63 appearances in the tournament since 1999, scoring 22 tries.

ERC European Dream Team
15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
14 Josh Lewsey (London Wasps)
13 Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster)
12 Yannick Jauzion (Toulouse)
11 Vincent Clerc (Toulouse)
10 Ronan O'Gara (Munster)
9 Rob Howley (London Wasps)
1 Christian Califano (Toulouse)
2 William Servat (Toulouse)
3 Sylvain Marconnet (Stade Français Paris)
4 Martin Johnson (Leicester Tigers)
5 Fabien Pelous (Toulouse)
6 Rocky Elsom (Leinster)
7 David Wallace (Munster)
8 Anthony Foley (Munster)

ERC European Player Award: Ronan O’Gara (Munster)
ERC European Coach Award: Guy Noves (Toulouse)
ERC European Fair Play Award: Martyn Williams (Pontypridd/Cardiff Blues)