Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Julian given starting spot for England

Figure image
Leicester Tigers colleagues Dan Hipkiss, Julian White and Louis Deacon will start England's final summer Test in Argentina on Saturday.

Three more Tigers - George Chuter, Ben Kay and Sam Vesty – have been included among the replacements as England team manager Martin Johnson prepares for the trip to the foot of the Andes on Saturday.

Chris Robshaw, the Guinness Premiership Player of the Year, makes his Test debut, while captain Steve Borthwick gains his 50th cap.

Hipkiss and Deacon both started last Saturday’s win over Argentina at Old Trafford, while White comes in for David Wilson and Chuter replaces Steve Thompson. Kay and Vesty were both used from the bench last weekend.

Clubmate Marcos Ayerza has been recalled to the Argentina side after appearing as a second-half replacement at Old Trafford. He starts at tighthead prop this weekend.

England team (v Argentina, Salta, Saturday)
15 Delon Armitage (London Irish)
14 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
13 Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers)
12 Tom May (Newcastle Falcons)
11 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)
10 Andy Goode (CA Brive)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Tim Payne (London Wasps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Julian White (Leicester Tigers)
4 Steve Borthwick (Saracens, captain)
5 Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
7 Steffon Armitage (London Irish)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 George Chuter (Leicester Tigers)
17 David Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
18 Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers)
19 James Haskell (London Wasps)
20 Paul Hodgson (London Irish)
21 Sam Vesty (Leicester Tigers)
22 Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)