Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Last week to vote for Player & Fan of the Year

Figure image
This is the last week of voting for the Leicester Tigers Player of the Season awards - and you can also help us find the Fan of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the Try Tuesdays Awards Night on April 29.

Following feedback from the Supporters Forum, the shortlist has been confirmed in four categories and we've also announced the creation of a new award for Fan of the Year.

Top try-scorer Vereniki Goneva, last year’s winner Julian Salvi, and forward trio Jamie Gibson, Ed Slater and Tom Youngs are nominated for the DX Player of the Year Award.

Back-rower Gibson also features in the nominations for Best Newcomer, and fly-half Owen Williams is shortlisted in two categories too.

Long-serving second-rower Louis Deacon is named alongside front-rowers Marcos Ayerza and Boris Stankovich, and club captain Toby Flood in the DX Outstanding Service Award category.

See below for the full shortlist.

To vote in any of the other categories, or to make a nomination for Fan of the Year, click here and fill in your details.

The DX Try of the Season award is voted for only by Awards Night guests.

Awards Night is the most glittering evening of the season, in the company of the whole first-team squad and the coaching staff in the Premiership Suite at Welford Road. This event includes a three-course meal with a Tigers player at your table, interviews and highlights videos throughout the evening, and the presentation of the awards to the player and young players of the year, best newcomer and the player who has contributed outstanding service to the club.

More than 500 supporters attended last year’s end-of-season awards dinner at Welford Road, with Julian Salvi, Manu Tuilagi, Adam Thompstone and Martin Castrogiovanni receiving the main prizes.

Tickets for the Try Tuesdays Awards Night, sponsored by DX, are available now, price £45 per person for season ticket holders and £55 for all other supporters. Buy at the Tigers ticket office, phone us on 0844 856 1880 (option 2) or book online.

Supporters’ Awards shortlist 2013/14

DX Player of the Year Award
Jamie Gibson
Vereniki Goneva
Julian Salvi
Ed Slater
Tom Youngs
Recent winners: 2013 Julian Salvi, 2012 Horacio Agulla, 2011 Thomas Waldrom

DX Young Player of the Year Award
Pablo Matera
Harry Thacker
Owen Williams
Recent winners: 2013 Manu Tuilagi, 2012 Steve Mafi, 2011 Manu Tuilagi

DX Newcomer of the Year Award
Jamie Gibson
David Mele
Blaine Scully
Owen Williams
Recent winners: 2013 Adam Thompstone, 2012 Julian Salvi, 2011 Thomas Waldrom

DX Outstanding Service Award
Marcos Ayerza
Louis Deacon
Toby Flood
Boris Stankovich
Recent winners: 2013 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2012 George Chuter, 2011 Geordan Murphy

Polls are open until Easter.