Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Legends inducted into Hall of Fame

Figure image
Leicester Tigers legends Martin Johnson CBE, Lewis Moody MBE and George Chuter are to be inducted into Premiership Rugby's Hall of Fame.

Exeter Chiefs head coach Rob Baxter, Ed Morrison, the former RFU head of elite referee development, and Tom Walkinshaw, the former chairman of Gloucester Rugby and Premier Rugby who passed away in 2010, will also be inducted.

"The six men represent a who's who of professional club rugby in England and we are delighted to welcome them into our Hall of Fame,” said Phil Winstanley, rugby director at Premiership Rugby.

"In the list we have two Rugby World Cup winners, one of Aviva Premiership Rugby's leading coaches, a man who refereed a Rugby World Cup Final, a player who played more than 200 Premiership matches and a club owner who left an indelible mark on the game here in England. A formidable line-up."

The six rugby legends will become part of a select group of players, coaches, officials and administrators in English club rugby's only Hall of Fame. They will be inducted at a ceremony on January 22 at the Honourable Artillery Company in London.

Tigers hooker Chuter has made the most appearances in the history of Premiership Rugby with 262 games, including 194 for the Tigers. He ended his 13th season at the club last year with his sixth Premiership title. and two Anglo-Welsh cups at Tigers and won 24 England caps, including playing in the 2007 World Cup Final.

Former Tigers, England and British & Irish Lions captain Johnson is a rugby icon after collecting every major honour in the game. ‘Johnno’ captained Tigers from 1997 to 2005, including a Cup Final victory in 1997, the historic run of four successive Premiership titles from 1999 and back-to-back wins in Europe’s Heineken Cup in 2001 and 2002.

He made the first of 84 Test appearances for England in 1993 and played in 10 Home Nations Championships, winning five, before leading the national side to their 2003 Rugby World Cup success in Australia.

His first tour with the British & Irish Lions came in 1993 and he became the first man to be named captain in two series, in 1997 (winning 2-1 in South Africa) and 2001.

Made a CBE after the World Cup triumph, Johnson entered the International Rugby Board hall of fame and retired in 2005 after 361 games for Tigers, giving him 13th place on the club’s all-time list. He was named England team manager in 2008 and won the 2011 Six Nations before taking them to the 2011 World Cup.

Moody was Johnson’s captain for that World Cup in New Zealand after lifting the Webb Ellis Trophy alongside him in 2003. He was made an MBE after the triumph.

The back rower spent 14 season at Tigers, winning six Premiership titles and two Heineken Cups. He won 71 Test caps for England and featured in all seven games of the 2003 Rugby World Cup triumph and included in the 22 for all seven games in the 2007 campaign. He won three Lions Test caps in 2005.

The Dinner is supported by British Airways and Heathrow Express and will raise money for Sport Relief and The Supporters Club.

For more information on the dinner contact David Haggart on 020 8831 7900 or email  [email protected]