Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Leicester Tigers team for Heineken Cup Final

Figure image
Head coach Richard Cockerill recalls Alesana Tuilagi and Martin Castrogiovanni to the Leicester Tigers team for Saturday's Heineken Cup Final against Leinster at Murrayfield.

Tuilagi returns from suspension to claim a place on the wing, while Castrogiovanni is named in the front row after sitting out the Guinness Premiership Final triumph over London Irish last weekend.

They are the only two changes to the side that started at Twickenham a week ago, with Johne Murphy and Julian White named among the replacements this Saturday.

Team captain Geordan Murphy and England international duo Lewis Moody and Ben Kay are included in the 22 for their fourth Heineken Cup Final with the club.

Cockerill, who has been involved in each of the club’s four previous European final appearances as a player and coach, said: “We didn’t play as well as we could at Twickenham last week but we have looked at that and now we have the Heineken Cup Final and you do not get too many opportunities to win in Europe.

“Leinster have a lot of established internationals and world-class players across the board. We have a huge amount of respect for them and I am sure they have for us too.”

Leicester Tigers (v Leinster, Heineken Cup Final, Murrayfield, Saturday 5pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (captain)
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Ayoola Erinle
12 Dan Hipkiss
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Sam Vesty
9 Julien Dupuy
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Tom Croft
5 Ben Kay
6 Craig Newby
7 Ben Woods
8 Jordan Crane

16 Benjamin Kayser
17 Julian White
18 Louis Deacon
19 Lewis Moody
20 Harry Ellis
21 Matt Smith
22 Johne Murphy