Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

London Irish team for Twickenham

Figure image
London Irish will start Saturday's Guinness Premiership Final against Leicester Tigers with the same line-up that ran out for the semi-final win over Harlequins last weekend.

England international lock Nick Kennedy has been named in the XV but will face a fitness test after picking up a knee injury in the 17-0 win over Quins. Bob Casey is captain and Mike Catt retains his place at fly-half.

“We’ve worked hard to create the chance to compete in the final of the Guinness Premiership and we’re looking forward to a great occasion,” said head coach Toby Booth.

“Leicester Tigers are always there or thereabouts at finals time. However the statistics show that being in and winning a final are two completely different things.

“If we perform well tomorrow, we have a good chance of winning. Our self-belief over a long season has earned us this opportunity and we intend having no regrets come the final whistle.”

Former Tigers hooker James Buckland is named among the Irish replacements.
London Irish team:
15 Peter Hewat
14 Adam Thompstone
13 Delon Armitage
12 Seilala Mapusua
11 Sailosi Tagickibau
10 Mike Catt
9 Paul Hodgson
1 Clarke Dermody
2 Danie Coetzee
3 Richard Skuse
4 Nick Kennedy
5 Bob Casey (captain)
6 Declan Danaher
7 Steffon Armitage
8 Chris Hala’Ufia

16 Alex Corbisiero
17 James Buckland
18 James Hudson
19 Richard Thorpe
20 Elvis Seveali’i
21 Peter Richards
22 Tom Homer