Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Owen starts in Under-20s back row

Figure image
Will Owen has retained his place in the England back row for the second game of the World Rugby Under-20s Championship in Italy this weekend.Leicester Tigers flanker Owen also started the opening 59-7 win over Japan and wears the No7 shirt again for Saturday’s match against Wales. The match is shown live on BT Sport 1, with kick-off in Calvisano at 7.30pm UK time.   England have made four changes to the side that beat Japan with Howard Packman, Kieran Treadwell, Sebastian Adeniran-Olule and Sam Skinner earning their first starts of the tournament. Josh Bainbridge is a new face on the bench.   Wales lost 19-10 to France in their opening fixture.    Head coach Jon Callard said: “In this competition every game matters because of the format, but for us it is about staying composed and keeping to our processes. We have a full squad to pick from, everyone is fit and raring to go, so we need to manage and rotate players.”   Owen’s Leicester team-mates Charlie Beckett, Owen Hills and Oli Bryant are also in the England squad in Italy.   England Under-20s 15 Aaron Morris (Saracens) 14 George Perkins (Saracens) 13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) 12 Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 11. Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 10 Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 9 Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs) 1. Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) 2 Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie) 3 Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 4. Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) 5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)(c) 6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints) 7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 8 Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs)   Replacements 16 Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs) 17. Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 18 Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) 19. Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons) 20. Josh Bainbridge (Yorkshire Carnegie) 21 James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 22 Lloyd Evans (Gloucester Rugby) 23 Piers O’Conor (Wasps)   Wales: Dafydd Howells (Ospreys); Lloyd Lewis (Dragons), Garyn Smith (Blues), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Joshua Adams (Scarlets); Jarrod Evans (Blues), Tomos Williams (Blues); Luke Garrett (Dragons), Liam Belcher (Blues), Dillon Lewis (Blues), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys, captain), Tom Phillips (Scarlets), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Harrison Keddie (Dragons). Replacements: Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Keagan Bale (Dragons), Joe Jones (Blues), Jon Fox (Ospreys), Seb Davies (Blues), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), Daniel Jones (Scarlets), Barney Nightingale (Dragons)