Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Silver medals for England Under-20s

Figure image
England finished as silver medallists in the World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Italy after a 21-16 defeat by New Zealand in the final.Leicester Tigers flanker Will Owen, who started every game of the championship, played his part at flanker as England made a strong start. Despite a try by centre Max Clark, though, England were 11-10 down at half-time.   The Baby Blacks extended their lead early in the second half when No8 Akira Ioane drove over the line. England responded with six crucial points from fly-half Rory Jennings but it became a race against the clock and the Kiwis held on to take the title won by England in the last two seasons.   Head coach Jon Callard said: “I can’t speak highly enough of the players and I know that a lot of them will go on to further honours.    “We were the smallest of margins away from finding the solution there. If it had gone on for another 10 minutes, we may have snuck it, but we couldn’t quite adapt and deliver that one play in the crucial moment that would have made the difference and we will learn from that.   “We are hugely disappointed with the result of this match but massively pleased with the way the lads have dug in and played some great rugby during the tournament. There is real talent in this group and I’m sure they will be pushing hard for places in the senior side in years to come.”   Owen was joined in the England squad for the Championships in Italy by Tigers Academy team-mates Charlie Beckett, Owen Hills and Oli Bryant.   England Under-20s 15 Aaron Morris (Saracens) 14 George Perkins (Saracens) 13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) 12 Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 11 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 10 Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 9 James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 1 Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 2 Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie)  3 Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 4 Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons) 5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)(c) 6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton) 7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)   Replacements 16 Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs) 17 Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) for Genge (54 mins) 18 Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) for Hill (78 mins) 19 Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) for Witty (54 mins) 20 Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) for Owen (75 mins) 21 Will Homer (Bath Rugby) for Mitchell (50 mins) 22 Lloyd Evans (Gloucester) for Jennings (71 mins) 23 Piers O’Conor (Wasps) for Morris (32 mins)