Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: LV= Cup semi-final

Figure image
International quartet Robert Barbieri, Brad Thorn, Blaine Scully and Christian Loamanu return to the Leicester Tigers team for Sunday's LV= Cup semi-final against Exeter Chiefs at Welford Road.All four sat out the Aviva Premiership win at Newcastle Falcons last weekend but return as Tigers and Chiefs contest a place in the final of this season’s knockout competition.   Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “We’ve had a good mix in the Cup with young players coming in and taking their opportunities alongside some of the more senior players. Their energy has been very important in the camp and now they have another opportunity with a place in the Final for the winners.”   Scully starts at full-back, with Matt Smith and Miles Benjamin recalled on the wings. Tommy Bell teams up with David Mele in the half-back positions.   In the forwards, Thorn joins captain Sebastian De Chaves at lock, while Jack Whetton comes in to start alongside Barbieri and Laurence Pearce in the back row.   Tickets for Sunday’s game are available now, priced just £15 adult seating or £5 junior for season ticket holders, or £20 adults and £6 junior for all other supporters. Book in person at the Tigers ticket office (open 8.30am-5pm Friday, 9am-5pm Saturday and from 9am on matchday), phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or book online by clicking here.   Leicester Tigers (v Exeter Chiefs, Welford Road, Sunday 1pm) 15 Blaine Scully 14 Matt Smith 13 George Catchpole 12 Christian Loamanu 11 Miles Benjamin 10 Tommy Bell 9 David Mele 1 Michele Rizzo 2 Harry Thacker 3 Fraser Balmain 4 Brad Thorn 5 Sebastian De Chaves (c) 6 Jack Whetton 7 Robert Barbieri 8 Laurence Pearce   Replacements 16 Neil Briggs 17 Tom Bristow 18 Logovi’i Mulipola 19 Tom Price 20 Julian Salvi 21 Sam Harrison 22 Terrence Hepetema 23 Adam Thompstone Exeter Chiefs: 15 Max Bodilly, 14 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 13 Adam Hughes, 12 Sireli Naqelevuki, 11 Tom James, 10 Ceri Sweeney (c), 9 Haydn Thoma;s 1 Brett Sturgess, 2 Elvis Taione, 3 Moray Low, 4 Mitch Lees, 5 Jerry Sexton, 6 Ben White, 7 Sam Simmonds, 8 Kai Horstmann. Replacements: 16 Greg Bateman, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Ed Holmes, 20 Joel Conlon, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Tom Hendrickson