Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Falcons

Figure image
Leicester Tigers head coach Matt O'Connor has brought Mike Williams, George McGuigan and Jack Roberts into the starting line-up for Saturday's home game against Newcastle Falcons.

O'Connor is in charge for the first time at Welford Road since his return to the club and brings McGuigan and Williams into the starting forward pack, with Tom Youngs and Mike Fitzgerald among the replacements this week. Roberts comes into the backline, with Mathew Tait on the bench.
There is also a place in the squad for scrum-half Sam Harrison on his return to fitness after a knee injury.
Ben Youngs takes over from older brother Tom as captain this week after making his 200th appearance for the club in the Round 19 encounter with Bath at Twickenham last Saturday.
O’Connor said: “We led the whole way against Bath and came up short in the last 10 minutes. That was disappointing but we still have an opportunity to be in control of our own destiny going forward.
"There were some very pleasing parts of the game against Bath, although it wasn’t a great result, and we’ve been looking at fixing things that were below-par in our performance and bringing the energy and tempo we need in the game.”
Tickets for Saturday’s game are on general sale now at the Tigers ticket office. Book in person, phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2)(opening hours are 9.00am-5.00pm Monday-Saturday) or online at www.leicestertigers.com at any time.
Leicester Tigers (v Newcastle Falcons, Welford Road, Saturday 3.00pm)
15 Telusa Veainu       
14 Adam Thompstone
13 Jack Roberts
12 Maxime Mermoz  
11 JP Pietersen         
10 Freddie Burns       
9 Ben Youngs (c)       
1 Ellis Genge  
2 George McGuigan
3 Dan Cole     
4 Dom Barrow
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Mike Williams
7 Brendon O’Connor
8 Luke Hamilton
16 Tom Youngs         
17 Greg Bateman
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Mike Fitzgerald
20 Harry Thacker
21 Sam Harrison
22 Owen Williams
23 Mathew Tait          
Newcastle Falcons: 15 Marcus Watson, 14 Vereniki Goneva, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Sinoti Sinoti, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Michael Young; 1 Rob Vickers, 2 Kyle Cooper, 3 David Wilson, 4 Calum Green, 5 Evan Olmstead, 6 Mark Wilson, 7 Will Welch (c), 8 Nili Latu.
Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey, 17 Ben Harris, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Will Witty, 20 Callum Chick, 21 Sam Egerton, 22 Craig Willis, 23 Zach Kibirige