Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus London Welsh

Figure image
Brad Thorn and Graham Kitchener return from injury to line up in the Leicester Tigers forward pack in Saturday's Aviva Premiership Round 20 fixture against London Welsh at Welford Road (3pm).World Cup winner Thorn has missed the last two games, while Kitchener has been sidelined since the win at London Irish in February. International trio Michele Rizzo, Leonardo Ghiraldini and Logovi’i Mulipola start in the front row, with Dan Cole rested and Marcos Ayerza ruled out by the hamstring injury suffered in the defeat at Saracens a fortnight ago. There are changes too in the backline, with Mathew Tait and George Catchpole linking up in a new-look midfield. Blaine Scully and Adam Thompstone are on the wings and Niall Morris at full-back. Announcing the team, Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “We were disappointed with the result and how we played at Saracens and now we’ve got three huge games left with a place in the top four as the target.” Tickets for Saturday’s game are still available from the Tigers ticket office. Call in at Welford Road or phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) during office hours, 8.30am-5pm Friday and from 9am up to kick-off on Saturday. Or click here to book online. A print at home function is available on online ticket purchases for home games. Saturday’s game is not scheduled for any live television coverage so the only place to see all of the action is at Welford Road. Leicester Tigers (v London Welsh, Welford Road, Saturday 3pm) 15 Niall Morris 14 Blaine Scully          13 Mathew Tait           12 George Catchpole 11 Adam Thompstone 10 Freddie Burns        9 Ben Youngs (c)        1 Michele Rizzo          2 Leonardo Ghiraldini  3 Logovi’i Mulipola      4 Brad Thorn   5 Graham Kitchener   6 Jamie Gibson 7 Julian Salvi 8 Laurence Pearce Replacements 16 Tom Youngs 17 Riccardo Brugnara 18 Fraser Balmain 19 Geoff Parling                     20 Jordan Crane         21 Sam Harrison 22 Tommy Bell 23 Seremaia Bai London Welsh: 15 Alan Awcock, 14 Rhys Crane, 13 Nic Reynolds, 12 James Lewis, 11 Chris Elder, 10 Olly Barkley, 9 Rob Lewis; 1 Nathan Trevett, 2 Koree Britton, 3 Ben Cooper, 4 Ben West, 5 Matt Corker (c), 6 Ben Pienaar, 7 Darren Waters, 8 Chris Hala’ufia. Replacements: 16 Nathan Morris, 17 Eddie Aholelei, 18 Jack Gilding, 19 Josh McNally, 20 Opeti Fonua, 21 Richard Thorpe, 22 Paul Rowley, 23 Will Robinson.