Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Saints

Figure image
International duo Tom Croft and Michele Rizzo return to the Leicester Tigers starting line-up for Saturday's Anglo-Welsh Cup fixture against Northampton Saints at Welford Road.

Croft is back to fitness after a back problem which has restricted his appearances this season, while prop Rizzo is in the first-team squad for the first time this season after his recovery from knee and calf injuries.
George Catchpole and Fraser Balmain also return to the starting line-up after an injury absence as Tigers defend their unbeaten start in the tournament.
Mathew Tait captains the team in the absence of Tom Youngs for the derby against Saints, with Owen Williams returning to the fly-half berth.
A young bench includes Ireland Under-20s prop Ben Betts for the first time as well as academy graduates Riccardo Brugnara, Joe Maksymiw, Will Owen and Ben White who have all gained senior experience on loan outside the Aviva Premiership this season.
Saturday’s game is heading towards a 25,000 sell-out at Welford Road with only a limited number of tickets still available. Book in person at the ticket office, phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or book online on the club website by clicking here.

Leicester Tigers (v Northampton Saints, Welford Road, Saturday 3.00pm)
15 Mathew Tait (c)
14 Tom Brady
13 Jack Roberts 
12 Matt Smith
11 George Catchpole
10 Owen Williams 
9 Jono Kitto
1 Michele Rizzo
2 Harry Thacker
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Harry Wells 
5 Dom Barrow
6 Tom Croft
7 Will Evans 
8 Luke Hamilton
16 George McGuigan
17 Riccardo Brugnara
18 Ben Betts 
19 Joe Maksymiw
20 Will Owen
21 Ben White
22 George Worth
23 Charlie Thacker 
Northampton Saints: 15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Nafi Tuitavake, 12 Harry Mallinder, 11 Juan Pablo Estelles, 10 Sam Olver, 9 Tom Kessell; 1 Ethan Waller, 2 Charlie Clare, 3 Kieran Brookes, 4 David Ribbans, 5 Christian Day (c), 6 Jamie Gibson, 7 Ben Nutley, 8 Sam Dickinson
Replacements: 16 James Fish, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Paul Hill, 19 Michael Paterson, 20 Lewis Ludlam, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 Rory Hutchinson, 23 James Wilson