Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Wasps

Figure image
Geoff Parling and Niall Morris return from injury to join the Leicester Tigers squad for Saturday's sell-out Aviva Premiership Round 19 match at home to London Wasps.

Second row Parling is named among the replacements on his return from shoulder surgery and is line for his first club appearance since mid-October, while wing Morris has sat out the last two months after surgery on a hand injury.

There are three changes in the forward pack following the Heineken Cup quarter-final in Clermont last weekend with Boris Stankovich and Fraser Balmain coming into the Tigers front row and Graham Kitchener joining captain Ed Slater in the second row.

Matt Smith comes into midfield alongside Manu Tuilagi in the only change to the backline.

International props Marcos Ayerza and Logovi’i Mulipola join Parling, Argentina flanker Pablo Matera and fly-half Toby Flood among the replacements.

“There was the obvious disappointment of missing out in Europe after going so close last week, but you re-focus very quickly with another tough game just seven days later,” said director of rugby Richard Cockerill. “There are only four rounds left in the Aviva Premiership season and we know we have to keep going.”

Saturday's game is not selected for any live TV coverage.

Leicester Tigers (v London Wasps, Welford Road, Saturday 3pm)
15 Mathew Tait
14 Vereniki Goneva
13 Matt Smith
12 Manusamoa Tuilagi
11 Blaine Scully
10 Owen Williams
9 Ben Youngs
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Tom Youngs
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Ed Slater (c)
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane

16 Rob Hawkins
17 Marcos Ayerza
18 Logovi’i Mulipola
19 Geoff Parling
20 Pablo Matera
21 David Mele
22 Toby Flood
23 Niall Morris

London Wasps: 15 Tommy Bell, 14 James Short, 13 Chris Bell (c), 12 Charlie Hayter, 11 Will Helu, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Charlie Davies; 1 Matt Mullan, 2 Tom Lindsay, 3 Phil Swainston, 4 James Cannon, 5 Tom Palmer, 6 Ed Jackson, 7 Guy Thompson, 8 Nathan Hughes. Reps: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Ricky Reeves, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Brett Sheehan, 22 Joe Carlisle, 23 Elliot Daly