Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Wasps

Figure image
Summer signing Opeti Fonua is included in the Leicester Tigers starting line-up for the first time in Sunday's Aviva Premiership Round 3 fixture against Wasps at Welford Road (3.15pm).Tongan No8 Fonua, signed from London Welsh in the summer, made his debut as a replacement in the win at London Irish in Round 1 and is now due to run out on home turf for the first time.   England prop Dan Cole makes his first start since the Rugby World Cup alongside international team-mate Tom Youngs and Fraser Balmain in the front row.   New arrival Telusa Veainu is included among the replacements after starring with Tonga at the World Cup and there are also places in the matchday squad for scrum-half Jono Kitto, signed from club rugby in New Zealand this summer, and former Newcastle Falcons lock Dom Barrow who has recovered from a knee injury suffered towards the end of last season.   Jordan Crane also returns to the matchday squad after recovery from a knee injury.   Tickets for Sunday’s game are available now. Book in person at Welford Road, phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or click here to book online.   Leicester Tigers (v Wasps, Welford Road, Sunday 3.15pm) 15 Mathew Tait (c)      14 Adam Thompstone 13 Peter Betham         12 Matt Smith 11 Vereniki Goneva    10 Owen Williams 9 Sam Harrison 1 Fraser Balmain 2 Tom Youngs            3 Dan Cole      4 Mike Williams 5 Mike Fitzgerald 6 Tom Croft    7 Lachlan McCaffrey 8 Opeti Fonua   Replacements 16 Greg Bateman 17 Logovi’i Mulipola    18 Tiziano Pasquali 19 Dom Barrow 20 Jordan Crane         21 Jono Kitto 22 Seremaia Bai         23 Telusa Veainu        Wasps: 15 Ruaridh Jackson, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 James Downey, 11 Frank Halai, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Dan Robson; 1 Matt Mullan, 2 Carlo Festuccia, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 4 Joe Launchbury, 5 Kearnan Myall, 6 James Haskell (c), 7 George Smith, 8 Nathan Hughes  Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Tom Bristow, 18 Lorenzo Cittadini, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Guy Thompson, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Sailosi Tagicakibau