Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team news: Under-18s Academy Finals Day

Figure image

Leicester Tigers have announced their team to face Gloucester Rugby on Premiership Rugby Under-18s Academy Finals Day this Sunday.

Tigers make a first appearance in the main final after finishing top of the northern conference with an unbeaten record.

Second-row Cameron Jordan, who made his England Under-18s debut this month after his first senior appearance for Tigers in the Anglo-Welsh Cup, is named as captain.

He is joined in the pack by George Martin, who is also a member of the national under-18 squad, and Henri Lavin who had a taste of first-team rugby with an appearance in the Anglo-Welsh Cup match against Wasps last month.

Will Yarnell and Sam Wager, who have also been involved in the Anglo-Welsh Cup squad this season, are among the replacements.

Tigers academy manager Dave Wilks said: “We’ve got a good group of players and there is a good mix of under-17s and under-18s which has helped in them coming together as a group. There has been a real buy-in from the players into getting better as individuals and as a team.

“It’s good to go through the league season unbeaten but the pressure comes from within the group really, there is no added pressure from us. The important thing is they continue to play the game we’ve played so far and not get too carried away by the occasion.”

Kick-off at Allianz Park is at 4.00pm on Sunday. All supporters are welcome. Or keep up to date with Tigers’ website and social media updates.

See the Tigers website for more previews in the build-up to Sunday.

Leicester Tigers Under-18s

15 Freddie Steward (Norwich School)

14 Zack Godfrey (Stamford School)

13 Ronnie Du Randt (Denstone College)

12 Andre Dunn (Langley School)

11 Will Poland (Bishop Vesey)

10 Sam Costelow (Oakham School)

9 Jonny Law (Rugby School)

1 Keston Lines (Wyggeston & QE College)

2 Jamie Harding (Denstone College)

3 James Whitcombe (Woodhouse Grove School)

4 George Martin (Brooksby Melton College)

5 Cameron Jordan (Oakham School)(c)

6 Henri Lavin (Wyggeston & QE College)

7 Taylor Gough (Wyggeston & QE College)

8 Thom Smith (Langley School)


16 Finlay Gibson (Brooksby Melton College)

17 Alex Maxwell (Brooksby Melton College)

18 Joe Latham (Wyggeston & QE College)

19 Xander Purcell (Wyggeston & QE College)

20 Dave Koelman (Stamford School)

21 Will Yarnell (Loughborough Grammar School)

22 Jacob Fewtrell (Denstone College)

23 Sam Wager (Wyggeston & QE College)

Gloucester Rugby U18s: 15 Reece Dunn, 14 Tom Stanton (c), 13 Jack Reeves, 12 Isaac Marsh, 11 Jacob Morris, 10 George Barton, 9 Steve Varney; 1 Olly Adkins, 2 Bertie Stretch, 3 Jack Bartlett; 4 Archie Tarbuck, 5 Joe Howard, 6 JJ Tonks, 7 Dec Fissenden, 8 Jack Clement
Replacements: 16 Morgan Nelson, 17 Shay O’Malley, 18 Alex Hunt, 19 Jonny Holiday, 20 Josh Gray, 21 Jack Curtis, 22 Tommy Mathews, 23 Louis Rees-Zammit