Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers announce squad for Singha Sevens

Figure image
Leicester Tigers coach Tosh Askew is looking forward to seeing a young squad test themselves in the competitive environment of the Singha Premiership Sevens at Newcastle on Saturday afternoon.England Under-20s hooker Jake Farnworth captains a Tigers squad looking to follow in the footsteps of their colleagues who reached the finals of the Premiership event in each of the last two seasons.   Academy assistant manager Askew leads the squad and said: “We’ve got a good group of young players involved this year, including 11 guys who have come right through from the age of 16 at our academy.   “Jake Farnworth has played in the tournament over the last couple of seasons but it is new to the rest of the group and they’re all looking forward to it.   “In sevens rugby you’re looking for players to show really good basic skills, 100 per cent effort as always and to express themselves, take their opportunities one on one and to be brave enough to look for those opportunities.   “This tournament tests your decision-making under fatigue in a competitive environment and that is important in the development of young players.”   Tigers came through the pool rounds at Northampton in 2013 to reach the Premiership Sevens Final against Gloucester, and beat hosts Harlequins in the Plate Final last year after coming through the pool stages at Newcastle.   The opening action for Tigers at Kingston Park is against hosts Newcastle Falcons at 4pm, with further fixtures against Worcester Warriors (4.55pm) and Sale Sharks (5.50pm). The Finals are at the Twickenham Stoop next Friday (August 28).   As well as Under-20s cap Farnworth, the Tigers squad includes forwards George Nairn and Stone Priestley-Nangle who made their senior debuts during last season’s LV= Cup, and academy prospects Will Evans, Paolo Odogwu and Ryan Olowofela who earned England age-group recognition in 2014/15.   Leicester Tigers squad 1 George Nairn 2 Jake Farnworth (c) 3 George Worth 4 Stone Priestley-Nangle 5 Ben Pons 6 Wesley Douglas 7 Will Evans 8 Oliver Povoas 9 Ben White 10 John Hargreaves 11 Paolo Odogwu 12 Ryan Olowofela Newcastle Falcons: 1 Joe Craggs, 2 Scott Riddell, 3 Callum Chick, 4 Gavin Lowe, 5 Scott Wight, 6 James Johnstone, 7 Dan Marshall, 8 Mark Robertson, 9 Ruaridh Dawson, 10 Joe Nayacavou, 11 James Fleming, 12   Jamie Farndale Sale Sharks: 1 Nev Edwards, 2 Liam Parfitt, 3 Christian Lewis Pratt, 4 George Nott, 5 Matt Rogerson, 6 Charlie Ingall, 7 John O'Donnell, 8 Sam James, 9 James Mitchell (c), 10 Tom Morton, 11 Tim Jeffers, 12 Mark Jennings Worcester Warriors: 1 Huw Taylor (c), 2 Dean Hammond, 3 Heath Stevens, 4 George de Cothi, 5 Jamie Shillcock, 6 Perry Humphreys, 7 Josh Adams, 8 Mat Gilbert, 9 Jonas Mikallcius, 10 Will Butler, 11 Ben Fowles, 12 Robbie Smith   Singha Premiership Sevens Group D - Saturday, August 22 at Kingston Park, Newcastle 4.00pm Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 4.25pm Worcester Warriors v Sale Sharks 4.55pm Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers 5.20pm Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks 5.50pm Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks 6.15pm Worcester Warriors v Newcastle Falcons Tickets for the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series are available now. For details, see www.premiershiprugby.com/7s