Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers name Premiership Rugby 7s squad

Figure image
Leicester Tigers have named their squad for the Premiership Rugby Sevens at Darlington's Northern Echo Arena on Saturday night.

Coach Geordan Murphy has selected a young group that will play London Welsh, Newcastle Falcons and Sale Sharks in Group D of the competition. The action kicks-off at 7.15pm.

The Tigers squad will be captained by centre George Catchpole, who was a member of the England Under-20s squad that won the Junior World Championship in New Zealand during the summer.

Catchpole made his Tigers debut in last season’s LV= Cup game against Ospreys at Welford Road and made a second start in the same competition at home to Bath Rugby.

He was also part of the Tigers squad that reached the final of last season’s Aviva Premiership Rugby Sevens.

Scrum-half George Tresidder, hooker Jake Farnworth and Academy winger David Williams also return for this season’s competition after being part of the squad that finished runners-up last year.

Oli Bryant, who missed out on last season's competition through injury, takes his place in the squad while trialist Andy Bulumakau was part of the Gloucester Rugby that won last season's tournament.

Tigers assistant backs coach Murphy said: "We have a young squad and the Aviva Premiership Rugby Sevens will be a good test for them.

“It is an opportunity for us to see how well they handle playing in front of a big crowd, it's an opportunity for them to express themselves on a big stage and to show what they can do ahead of the season.”

Tickets are available priced £10 adults and concessions and £5 for under-16s on 0871 2266060, and from the Newcastle Falcons and Darlington Mowden Park ticket offices.

Tickets for the Premiership Rugby 7s Series Final on Friday, 8 August at the Twickenham Stoop are now on sale at premiershiprugby.com/7s

Leicester Tigers (Premiership Rugby Sevens, Northern Echo Arena, kick-off 7.15pm)
1 Will Owen
2 Jake Farnworth
3 Tomi Jones
4 George Catchpole (c)
5 Rhys Williams
6 George Tresidder
7 Josh Fowles
8 Andy Bulumakau
9 Phil Woodhead
10 David Williams
11 Oli Bryant
12 Dan Rundle

London Welsh: 1 Aaron Myers (c), 2 Gerhard Wessels, 3 Ben Frankland, 4 Sam Egerton, 5 Chris Levesley, 6 Jono Woodward, 7 Watisoni Vakalutulaki, 8 Jamel Chisholm, 9 Austin Beckett, 10 Johnny Wehbe, 11 Hamish Smales, 12 Jamie Davies

Newcastle Falcons: 1 Sean Brown, 2 Tom Catterick (c), 3 Andy Davies, 4  Chris Harris, 4 Simon Hammersley, 5 Ben Morris, 6 Sean Robinson, 7 Lee Smith, 8 Dan Temm, 9 Brian Tuilagi, 10 Craig Willis         

Sale Sharks: 1 Liam Parfitt, 2 Tahir El Mahdi, 3 John O'Donnell, 4 James Mitchell, 5 Tim Jeffers, 6 Ciaran Parker, 7 George Nott, 8 Tom Bell, 9 Nathan Fowles, 10 Sam Bedlow, 11 Mark Lawrence, 12 George Beal