Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers name Singha Premiership Rugby 7s squad

Figure image

Leicester Tigers have named their squad for the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s.

Tigers take on Newcastle Falcons and Wasps on Friday, the first day of the two-day tournament at Franklin’s Gardens. The action will be shown live on BT Sport.

The action starts at 6pm on Friday with Tigers taking to the field to play Wasps at 7.28pm before taking on Newcastle at 8.56pm.

"The competition will give them great exposure and is a good opportunity for them."

Tigers development coach Brett Deacon

The Singha Premiership Rugby 7s will mark the start of a new partnership between Tigers and Loughborough University to provide development opportunities for players and coaches.

As part of the link, Loughborough University students will represent Tigers in the first event of the new domestic season.

Brett Deacon, Tigers development coach, said: “It’s great to see our relationship with Loughborough get off to a really good start with the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s.

“There is a lot of 7s experience in the squad and a couple of the players have been training with Tigers on the rugby sessions, they have done well.

“The competition, being staged on a Premiership Rugby ground and in front of the live BT Sport cameras, will give them great exposure and is a good opportunity for them.”

Tigers, who will wear the new alternate kit on Friday night, will be captained by Andrew Boyce, an England international at under-16, under-18 and under-20 levels.

The squad includes England 7s international Tom Ffitch, Ireland Wolfhounds 7s international Jack Stapley and Scotland 7s international Alex Glashan, who represented his country at the 2011 Youth Commonwealth Games.

England student Will Kaye, who has trained with the Tigers squad at Oval Park this pre-season, said: “It’s massively exciting. It will be incredible to get out there and test ourselves on a big stage.

“It’s a quality opportunity for the boys to show what we’re all about.”

For all details of the Singha 7s and to buy tickets go to www.premiershiprugby.com/singha7s

Leicester Tigers squad

1 Harry Nuttall

2 Andrew Boyce

3 Charlie Dockery

4 Oli Burgess

5 Ben Pointon

6 Alex Glashan

7 Jack Stapley

8 Will Kaye

9 Tom Ffitch

10 Will Foster

11 Victor Keunen

12 Luke Frost