Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers team-mates ready for Irish test

Manu Tuilagi, Jonny May and Ben Youngs join George Ford in England’s starting line-up for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup warm-up fixture against Ireland at Twickenham.

Leicester Tigers centre Tuilagi starts his first game of the series, lining up at outside centre, with Owen Farrell returning to captain the team in the No12 shirt.

Ford keeps his place at fly-half, with Tigers clubmate Youngs starting for the first time this summer at scrum-half. In the process, Youngs will start the day ahead of Dan Cole as Leicester’s most-capped player, with prop Cole named on the bench.

Elis Genge, who was involved in the home-and-away games with Wales, sits out this weekend.

Head coach Eddie Jones has Tom Curry and Sam Underhill back from injury in the back row and prop Mako Vunipola has been named among the replacements after recovering from long-term injury.

Naming his team for the next round of the Quilter Internationals, Jones said: “This weekend we will be looking to gain more game fitness and testing different sorts of game strategies. We have a specific way of how we want to play and the focus is very much on ourselves.” 
On England’s last game at Twickenham before heading to Japan, he added: “We have been so appreciative of the support we have had at Twickenham this year and this is our last match there before the tournament, so we look forward to playing well in front of our fans.” 
There is live coverage of Saturday’s game on Sky Sports.

England (v Ireland, Twickenham, Saturday 3.00pm)

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 32 caps)
14 Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)
13 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 71 caps) C
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 57 caps) 
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 87 caps) 

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 60 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 38 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 23 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 28 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 34 caps)
6 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 11 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 43 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 13 caps)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 87 caps)
19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 73 caps)
20 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons/Sale Sharks, 13 caps)
21 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps)
22 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 6 caps)
23 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 42 caps)

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90 caps
14 Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 14 caps
13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps
12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
11 Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19 caps
10 Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
9 Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72 caps
1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 89 caps
2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 117 caps
3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33 caps
4 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 45 caps
5 Jean Kleyn (Munster) 1 cap
6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57 caps
7 Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31 caps

16 Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
17 Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 55 caps
18 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps
19 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 65 caps
20 Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 6 caps
21 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps
22 Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 4 caps
23 Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 13 caps