Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers trio start for England in Cardiff

George Ford will once again lead England as they face Wales in Cardiff in their second Rugby World Cup warm-up match this Saturday.

The Leicester Tigers fly-half is named as captain after leading England to a 33-19 win over Wales at Twickenham last Sunday.

Tigers props Ellis Genge and Dan Cole both start in the front row, with Ben Youngs and Manu Tuilagi named on the England bench as at Twickenham.

There are three changes to the starting XV that played last weekend, with Maro Itoje named in the second row while Courtney Lawes will play at blindside flanker with Lewis Ludlam moving to openside.

Former England Sevens man Ruaridh McConnochie will start his first full international game after being withdrawn from the team last weekend due to injury.

Owen Farrell, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler are included in the matchday 23 for the first time in this series of matches ahead of the Rugby World Cup.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “Our selection strategy for our second game is similar to the first, so a bit of a mix-and-match approach. We are looking at different combinations and have a particular strategy for this game.

“The game is very much about ourselves preparing for the World Cup and we are respectful that we have got such strong opposition at their home ground. We are looking forward to it.

“The squad has been progressing well this week and I think there is a realisation among the squad now that the hard work really starts, nothing has been achieved.”

Kick-off from the Principality Stadium is scheduled for 2.15pm this Saturday, August 17. Live coverage is provided by Sky Sports.

England (v Wales, Saturday 2.15pm)

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 31 caps)
14 Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 41 caps)
12 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
11 Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 56 caps) (c)
9 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap) (vc)
1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 10 caps)
2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 59 caps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 27 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 72 caps)
7 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 42 caps)

16 Jamie George (Saracens, 37 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 59 caps)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 22 caps)
19 George Kruis (Saracens, 33 caps)
20 Jack Singleton (Saracens, 1 cap)
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 86 caps)
22 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 70 caps)
23 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 33 caps)

Wales: 15 Liam Williams (Saracens) (56 Caps), 14 George North (Ospreys) (84 Caps), 13 Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (74 Caps), 12 Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (16 Caps), 11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (11 Caps), 10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints) (71 Caps), 9 Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (42 Caps); 1 Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (29 Caps), 2 Ken Owens (Scarlets) (65 Caps), 3 Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (41 Caps), 4 Jake Ball (Scarlets) (33 Caps), 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c) (Ospreys) (126 Caps), 6 Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (9 Caps), 7 James Davies (Scarlets) (3 Caps), 8 Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (32 Caps).

Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee (Dragons) (19 Caps), 17 Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (13 Caps), 18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (13 Caps), 19 Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (18 Caps), 20 Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (16 Caps), 21 Aled Davies (Ospreys) (17 Caps), 22 Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) (1 Cap), 23 Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (14 Caps).