Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Veainu hits top of the charts

Figure image
Telusa Veainu has ended his debut campaign in the Aviva Premiership among the Opta stars of the season.

The Leicester Tigers supporters’ choice as Player of the Season and a selection in the Bt Sport Dream Team, Veainu topped the charts for numbers of defenders beaten, according to Opta statistics.
His anticipation, pace and footwork allowed Veainu to beat 75 defenders in Premiership rugby, putting him well clear of Exeter's Jack Nowell and Semesa Rokoduguni of Bath (68), while the Tonga international also scored well on carries, breaks and metres made (averaging 81.5 metres in each game).
Peter Betham, another Leicester player in his first season in the Premiership, featured in the top 25s for carries and metres, and joined club colleagues Veainu and Vereniki Goneva in the top 10 for breaks.
Selected Opta stats leaders for season 2015/16
Defenders beaten
1 Telusa Veainu (Leicester Tigers)     75
2 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)           68
3 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)            68
15 Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)           43
1 Christian wade (Wasps)       33
2 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)            30
3 Cooper Vuna (Worcester Warriors) 29
4 Telusa Veainu (Leicester Tigers)     28
8 Peter Betham (Leicester Tigers)     24
9 Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers) 23

1 Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors) 1,796
2 Alex Goode (Saracens)       1,560
3 Telusa Veainu (Leicester Tigers)     1,549
9 Peter Betham (Leicester Tigers)     1,077
24 Mathew Tait (Leicester Tigers)      817

1 Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)  327
2 Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors) 260
3 Nathan Hughes (Wasps)     257
7 Telusa Veainu (Leicester Tigers)     193
12 Peter Betham (Leicester Tigers)   179

1 Nathan Hughes (Wasps)     27
2 Bryce Heem (Worcester Warriors) 24
3 Nick Easter (harlequins) / Ben Foden (Northampton Saints) 23
12eq Lachlan McCaffrey (Leicester Tigers)  18
21eq Peter Betham (Leicester Tigers)           16

Lineouts won
1 Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints)           112
2 Sean Robinson (Newcastle falcons)           93
3 Bryn Evans (Sale Sharks)   87
5 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)           83
10 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)        67
20 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)           44

Lineout steals
1 Bryan Evans (Sale Sharks) 16
2 Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs)           15
3 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) / George Kruis (Saracens)           8
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens) / Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)         7
7 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers) / Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs)          6